Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Old 03-30-2015, 01:28 PM   #1
angryBits

Drives: ZL1 1LE A10
2015 ZL1 knock? Conclusion @ 4/27/15

Hey everyone, I'm new to Camaro5 and also a new first-time Camaro owner. Please forgive me if I'm asking a question that is common knowledge, I did try to use the search :/

I have a 100% stock 2015 ZL1 6spd MT which I bought new 2 weeks ago with only 25 miles on the Odometer.

The car consistently knocks while WOT from 2000rpm and maybe 33% of the time while WOT from 3000rpm. It occurs as soon as I see the boost gauge hit boost, it never knocks prior to boost. These aren't loud knocks and its not drivetrain noise and its not the supercharger clunking as far as I can tell. It's just a light tat tat tat that happens a few times when I'm WOT and then goes away. The car feels slightly down on power but not huge.

I've followed proper break-in procedure and now have 1600 miles on the car. The car has been knocking or at least what I believe is knocking since day 1. For the first 500 miles I assumed the dealer put crap gas in the car but by now I've definitely eliminated any of the original gas, I even tried octane booster since we only get 91 octane here in San Francisco. So then I thought maybe it just needed to do some knock learning and I should finish break-in and stay out of boost.

I decided to buy an Moroso Oil Catch Can and its on the way but I'm weary about touching the engine, I don't want anyone saying I voided my warranty.

If anyone has any insight to this, I'd love to get this awesome car running properly. Bear in mind I'm guessing this is a knock, it could be something else -- let me know if you have other ideas.

Thanks!

UPDATE @ 4/4/15: Dropped off at Fremont Chevrolet Post 77

UPDATE @ 4/7/15: GM Tech Round 1 Post 116