Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V6

Old 03-12-2015, 01:37 PM   #1
sbear

Do you need an upgraded exhaust to maximize FI benefits?

Hi guys, pretty newbie here so please bear with me if I ask stupid questions...

From what I've been able to find, the narrowest point in the LFX exhaust system is 2.25". I know there's a couple of 2.5" cat-back exhausts available so would switching from 2.25" to 2.5" be beneficial when you go FI on the LFX? Or would it not make a difference at all.
Old 03-12-2015, 03:29 PM   #2
JantzenOKC

Drives: '13 2LT/RS Twin Turbo
I still have 2.25" between my xpipe and muffler delete. I plan on replacing it with 2.5" just haven't yet. I've heard it makes a difference on a turbo car (don't know how much). Not sure about a supercharged v6, definitely couldn't hurt though.
JantzenOKC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 05:52 PM   #3
DSX_Camaro

Drives: 2013 SW 2LT/RS LFX/AY6
Depends on what kind of FI you use. If you go IPF supercharger, then yes, stick with 2.5". If you go turbo some way, then it depends on what your power goals are and where the compressor's efficiency is... If it fits the bill, you could use a 3" exhaust with a twin turbo set up.

Regardless, is it necessary, no, but more exhaust flow with FI is almost always better.