Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HURST
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2013, 11:01 PM   #1
1LE Red Dragon
Train Driver
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS A8
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 259
ZL1 gauge pack in Supercharged SS?

Has anyone tried installing the ZL1 4 gauge pack in a SS? It would be cool to have the factory boost gauge just for reference and the car look stock. I've searched and couldn't find anything on it. I can't be the first one to think of it. So I figured I'd ask here and see if anyone has tried this.

Last edited by 1LE Red Dragon; 08-02-2013 at 09:57 AM.
1LE Red Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 12:33 AM   #2
the_fast_one

 
the_fast_one's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 IOM 2SS, 05 SOM Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 826
interested in this too
__________________
Let the modding begin
466/436 - JRE Rough Idle blower cam, BTR push rods, PRC 6.75 springs, halltech CAI, K&N filter, SLP 25% UD pulley, Manley H/V oil pump, Kooks 1 7/8 headers w/o cats, ported TB, Npp exhaust. BMR 1.4"/1" drop springs, ZL1 Swaybars, 1LE strut tower brace, zl1 rockers, zl1 style splitter, night shades ns3 stripe kit.

Future mods
Dss 1000hp axels Dss aluminum driveshaft, bmr full bushings, ? Clutch, ? Supercharger, wheels/drag radials.
the_fast_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:38 AM   #3
pdiddy

 
Drives: 2011 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 986
I would like to know more as well about this.
__________________
2011 2SS,fti th400, ECS 1500, Flex Fuel, Boost built 376, squash fuel system
pdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 11:08 PM   #4
1LE Red Dragon
Train Driver
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS A8
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 259
I talked with my Chevy dealers shop foreman about this. We looked up the schematic for the gauge cluster on the 2013 Camaros. There is only one schematic for all Camaros in 2013. The ZL1 shares the same circuit diagram. There is also only one pinout on the plug that hooks up the gauge on 2013 models. It appears that the circuit board in the 4 gauge pack will request the correct information for the gauge pack that's installed whether it be the SS gauge pack or the ZL1 gauge pack. So it appears it should be plug and play installation if you have the patch harness for the 2013 that the vendor on here sells. If they had a ZL1 we were going to try it out, but they don't have one. I am going to check to see how much that gauge pack for the ZL1 costs. It should be the same as the other one in the SS. Since there is really no difference in them except what parameter its looking at in the PCM.

He and I both think it should work. But won't know until someone tries it. I guess I need to order the 2013 patch harness first.

Brian
1LE Red Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:13 AM   #5
MARKS5LTRETR
I'm a lucky dude
 
MARKS5LTRETR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SS/RS #1226
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Winter Springs FL.
Posts: 509
I'm not sure the pcm will read boost without installing a map sensor that reads boost. Maybe a Zl1 or ZR1 3 bar map would work.
__________________
KB supercharged, Meth injected, Kooks sig series, Corsa cat back, Eibach pro kit, engine mods by me, Tuned by Next Level Performance, 2 tons of fun.

Last edited by MARKS5LTRETR; 08-03-2013 at 03:34 PM.
MARKS5LTRETR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:55 PM   #6
Big C CamaroSS

 
Drives: Black Camaro 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,145
This is a very interesting thread. I just installed a red Magnuson supercharger but don't have a boost gauge (don't want to tear apart the top of my steering wheel or corner post). The ZL1 4 pack gauges would be sweet. As per Ted's recommendations, I put in a ZR1 3 bar map sensor with the supercharger install. I'd want the Canadian version of the gauges, but all I would need to do is switch out the gauges and plug in? I have a 2013 1LE. Would I need to get my custom tune (Ted J) tweaked to work on the GM gauges? The gauges are under $200 I believe so it would be a "cheap" way to get a boost gauge

Anyone know the part number of the ZL1 4 pack gauges?
Big C CamaroSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 12:09 AM   #7
1LE Red Dragon
Train Driver
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS A8
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 259
I was told the non supercharged versions still have MAP sensors, by my Chevy mechanic. That's being the case the PCM should already have that information. Not sure if it would be a two bar MAP sensor though as it should never go above atmospheric pressure. If we can verify its a two bar MAP sensor on the SS, then it really should be plug and play for sure. If we had someone with a ZL1, and a pre 2013 SS they could easily verify this for us. The 2013 requires the special harness. The 2012 and older should be an easy check. I have googled and can't find the part number for the ZL1 auxiliary gauge pack, nor a cost. Anybody else know?
1LE Red Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 08:08 AM   #8
TRGunner
 
TRGunner's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 32
Does the ZL1 gauge cluster go in the center console like the SS2 cluster or is it different?
TRGunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 04:07 PM   #9
1LE Red Dragon
Train Driver
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS A8
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 259
Same. Just has a boost gauge in place of the transmissionn temp gauge. I think its the transmissionn temp gauge. But it looks the same, just the one gauge reads a different parameter, boost.
1LE Red Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 04:18 PM   #10
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 205
Interesting. But the ZL1 boost gauge is located in a place which makes it unuseful. I prefer the SLP or ADM boost gauges which is more useful and clean.
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 09:04 AM   #11
TRGunner
 
TRGunner's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 32
A nice small clear pillar post gauge might work near the dash.
TRGunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:25 PM   #12
URBAN LEGEND


 
URBAN LEGEND's Avatar
 
Drives: 16 BMW M5 & 15 Z/28
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriGun View Post
Interesting. But the ZL1 boost gauge is located in a place which makes it unuseful. I prefer the SLP or ADM boost gauges which is more useful and clean.
This guy gets it.

That boost gauge is useless. Boost gauge should had been in the HUD, not buried under the dash. Don't waste your money or time on this mod.
URBAN LEGEND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:45 PM   #13
2SS45th


 
2SS45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 Seconds or Faster
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 2,801
I personally have no use for gauges, I datalog my car and read the logs afterwards, I don't have time to look down, even if it's the steering column, and check gauges; I'm too busy trying to go fast!
__________________
I Ain't About That Stock Life.

2SS45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:24 PM   #14
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: To many to list
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 14,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by URBAN LEGEND View Post
This guy gets it.

That boost gauge is useless. Boost gauge should had been in the HUD, not buried under the dash. Don't waste your money or time on this mod.
We are starting to look at how to add a page to the HUD that will show boost its where is needs to be right in front of you as your driving.
__________________
<img src=images/smilies/thumbdown.gif border=0 alt= title=Thumbdown class=inlineimg />
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.