Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 03-13-2010, 01:20 PM   #1
ratlover

Drives: 2010 Inferno Orange SS 6 speed
Cats or Cat delete???

Hi all! I just bought a 2010 SS 6 speed. I'm kinda new to the late model gasser world since the only thing late model I've ever really messed with is diesels so forgive me for any stupid noob questions. Ive got 400 miles on her so the mod precess has begun......need enough power so its at least as fast as my last 2 duramaxes

I've ordered a cat back from spintech. 2.5" with an x. Hopefully it will be here soon becasue its way to quiet Other than that its currently stock. Plan to eventually get an air squasher of some sort, probably fairly soon. Car won't be too wild though. 550ish to the rears I would venture to guess.

Now its time to pick out headers. I'm leaning twards ARH. Then the question is with or without cats? I dont see any reason to run cats personnaly. Should I?

1. I know it will be louder but i'm cool with that as long as it dosnt sound like crap. I know thats subjective but if it sounds like a stock 95 stang or chevy truck with straight pipes it aint my cup of tea. Some like it but redneck rice aint my thing. I dont mind loud but it should be deep and throaty, not raspy and obnoxious at WOT. Also should be moderate at low load.

2. Dont flame me but I dont care about emmisions. They also dont check here. If they start I'll go to plan B.

3. I have EFI Live from my diesel days so the code stuff shouldnt be a worry right. Beside, will need a tune with long tubes regardless if it has a cat or not right? So I dont see it as making a difference 1 way or the other.

4. Warranty isnt a concern for me. See 3, its getting tuned with long tubes regardless right