Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2010, 03:38 PM   #1
streetrace
 
Drives: a slow 2010
Join Date: May 2009
Location: wyoming
Posts: 85
Richmond 4.10 fail

so has anyone else cleaned the teeth off the pinon yet?
streetrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:00 PM   #2
hamidar05
 
Drives: 10 Camaro/69 Bronco/08 Mazda3
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by streetrace View Post
so has anyone else cleaned the teeth off the pinon yet?
I think I saw a recent thread on that. Man, that's lame. Send it back to them, hope you saved the 3.45s..

Good luck
__________________
Selection Worksheet - 04/27/09
3300 - 08/03/09
6000 - 08/25/09
VIN# 34612
Bitchin Camaro - Dead Milkmen - http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/8092
Thank You Oshawa - Domo arigato Mr. Roboto
~1600 mi so far - 07/18/10
hamidar05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:05 PM   #3
2010 SSRS



 
2010 SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 3 V8 Camaros
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Ocean State
Posts: 111,205
wow, that's not good to hear.
__________________
Jannetty Racing JRE Street Package
2010 SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:12 PM   #4
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 11,939
Jannetty racing had a car do that about a month ago. Not sure what Richmond did if anything. It wasn't a pretty site.
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:16 PM   #5
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by streetrace View Post
so has anyone else cleaned the teeth off the pinon yet?
Are you saying you had this happen or you are just wondering if its happened again? There has only been a few confirmed cases of this happening and after selling enough of these gears to fill a semi truck trailer we have yet to have one of our customers break a set. That being said, with enough power and/or abuse anything will break.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:28 PM   #6
streetrace
 
Drives: a slow 2010
Join Date: May 2009
Location: wyoming
Posts: 85
this did happen, all teeth are gone from pinon, most gone or chipped from ring gear, I am a gm tech and these were set up perfect, and had no whine and a perfect pattern
the gears are in the mail back to Richmond, and my stock 3.45s are back in for now
I understand you have to pay to play, but these only had 560 miles on them, and I didn't even get a chance to try them at the track yet
I was just seeing if anyone else has had this happen, and if Richmond covered it
streetrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 01:48 AM   #7
VADER SS L99


 
VADER SS L99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 A6 GT 5.0
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 2,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by streetrace View Post
this did happen, all teeth are gone from pinon, most gone or chipped from ring gear, I am a gm tech and these were set up perfect, and had no whine and a perfect pattern
the gears are in the mail back to Richmond, and my stock 3.45s are back in for now
I understand you have to pay to play, but these only had 560 miles on them, and I didn't even get a chance to try them at the track yet
I was just seeing if anyone else has had this happen, and if Richmond covered it
Compare your stock pieces to the Richmond and tell me if you cant see a big difference. Richmond lost me as a customer after I broke not 1 but 2 sets of 3.73 gears in my auto 4th gen Z28. That car was a bolt on car with about 340rwhp. Both times the gears broke it was on the street with street tires. Gears were installed correctly both times by same shop. Went with a set of 3.73 AAM (I think AAM was the name, same company that makes stock gears) and never had a problem again for many , many years until I sold the car. The AAM gears took way more abuse with drag radials than the Richmond and were as quiet as stock unlike the Richmond that wined like a ricer. In all seriousness though any company will have their work cut out for them making 4.10's in this car because the 4.10 will always be weaker than the 3.42's made by the same company.
__________________
BLK/BLK 1SS/RS Ordered 11-01-2009 Took delivery 12-22-2009. Heads/cam/converter/bolt ons. SOLD Feb 2015 to fund 6th gen LT1 SS with 8L90E.
VADER SS L99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 10:23 AM   #8
IROCanSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 89 IROC 350
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Back roads, southern Ohio
Posts: 12,504
My broke set too. I was the first car to have them on the street. I got them installed the day the install kits became available, sometime in February. They broke mid March with 1000 miles. Car was basically stock with street tires. All it had was a tune, the gears and tune were my first mod. I am back to 3.45s now. Richmond was a stand-up company about and refunded my money for the gears and install kit. CincySpeed was also a very stand-up company about it. They installed my 3.45s back in my car at no charge. All I am out (other than the 4.10s which were AWESOME) is the cost of the initiall install and the tow bill. Not a big deal... remember pay to play!

You are right, it was not pretty. 100% cleaned off the pinion, about 75% off the ring. All teeth chipped in some manner.

Good luck, I hope they do you right. I have heard of atleast one other set with the same failure...

Last edited by IROCanSS; 07-01-2010 at 11:11 AM.
IROCanSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 10:33 AM   #9
se7en

 
Drives: 87 Pinto on 32's
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,792
I guess i'll keep my fingers crossed
se7en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:36 PM   #10
camaro1

 
camaro1's Avatar
 
Drives: 550+RWHP 2010 camaro
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,588
heard a rumor from several people that richmond was telling people to put 2 qts of gear lube in the rear diff (capacity is 1.1 qt) they said to fill it through the vent tube and make the total 2 qts??

anyone else here this??
__________________
415ci stroker, TVS 2300 Magnacharger, cnc heads, cam, yank ss3200 converter, Kooks long tubes, Bwoody true cold air kit, ZL1 Pump, magnaflow 3" cat-back, lowering springs,BMR control arms and tie rod bars, 3.73 gears, diff mounts, RX can, ADM fuel controller
camaro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:41 PM   #11
edneyens
 
edneyens's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SS/RS/M6-White/Beige
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 161
My installer says that you can get different quality Richmond gears one in a blue and one in a black box. Said the set I got from Apex was the good set. Don't know much more - does anyone know more about the two versions?
__________________
edneyens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 01:07 PM   #12
danhr
BAMF SS
 
danhr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ford City, PA
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via AIM to danhr
4.10's in mine. I've put about 6000 miles on them. Still no whine. Still in tact. Mods in sig. It isn't a stock car, and gets driven hard.
__________________
Bragging about a car that you paid someone to pick the parts and install them for you, is like paying someone to bang your wife, and then bragging about the kid.
"I'm sorry officer, no, I do not know why you pulled me over."
danhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 01:24 PM   #13
POWERFREAK
I.AM.
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS/M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro1 View Post
heard a rumor from several people that richmond was telling people to put 2 qts of gear lube in the rear diff (capacity is 1.1 qt) they said to fill it through the vent tube and make the total 2 qts??

anyone else here this??

haven't heard that...if that were true, you would think they'd list that on a special instruction sheet w/ the gears.


Quote:
Originally Posted by edneyens View Post
My installer says that you can get different quality Richmond gears one in a blue and one in a black box. Said the set I got from Apex was the good set. Don't know much more - does anyone know more about the two versions?
sounds like BS.
__________________
NY5thgen.com
POWERFREAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 01:46 PM   #14
se7en

 
Drives: 87 Pinto on 32's
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,792
+1
se7en is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Richmond Rear End Gears - 3.73 & 4.10 Sean@Phastek Transmission / Driveline 0 06-02-2010 11:47 AM
Richmond Gears 3.73 4.10 SupremacyCustoms Transmission / Driveline 12 05-20-2010 11:04 PM
When is the 4.10 Richmond Gears coming out for the V6??? GearLube V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) 3 04-26-2010 06:22 PM
Richmond 3.73 & 4.10 Gears On Special! Jason 98 TA Transmission / Driveline 14 02-24-2010 12:03 PM
NEW PRODUCT: 2010 Camaro Richmond Gears - 3.73 and 4.10 Ratios tbyrne Transmission / Driveline 9 01-11-2010 11:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.