Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions

Old 10-03-2009, 09:22 PM   #1
BulletSS

Drives: 2SS/RS CGM M6
Chicagoland dealer- Al Piemonte Chevy was great- highly recommend- (long read)

For those that need/want to order a Camaro in the Chicagoland area, I have to recommend Al Piemonte Chevy in East Dundee. Up to talking to them, I had no idea that Piemonte even sold Chevys; it’s always Ford or something else on TV. Anyhow in short, they were very good to deal with, I got a great deal (over $3000 off MSRP), and I may be the fastest order-to-delivery of anyone on C5- 36 days.

So here is the long story….
Being a college graduate, I did a lot of research in both price and eligibility. I read all the posts that talk about how it is a dealer’s option to honor the discounts or not. I made a list of over 25 dealers in the northwest area of Chicago (Schaumburg, Elgin, East Dundee, St. Charles, Glen Ellyn, Palatine, Rockford, Woodstock, DeKalb, even up to Wisconsin). I called all of them and asked whether they honored the college discount. Believe it or not, only 4 said yes. I then asked if they honored the USAA discount and the GM card (which I needed time to build up to the rebate). Once the final 4 was chosen, I then called all of them back and asked what kind of goodies would they throw in since everyone is going to be priced exactly the same? Basically, why would I choose their dealership over another one? The offerings varied from free oil changes, car washes for life, car covers, locking lug nuts, to $100 gift cards. Naturally, I logged all of this in a spreadsheet.