Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Old 06-07-2015, 03:54 PM   #1
angryBits

Drives: ZL1 1LE A10
Warranty Myth

Disclaimer:
I am not a lawyer or legal advisor, nor do I work for GM or any other manufacturer -- I am a software engineer at Yahoo. This information is based on my experience, conversations with dealers and scouring actual *reputable-ish* sources on the internet (cited below).

#####

I read a lot of misinformation about car warranty and the warranty being "void". There is rarely such a thing.

Things that "MAY" instantly void your warranty:
- You "race" your car, however the Camaro, Corvette, etc support racing so this doesn't really count?
- Not following proper break-in procedure, though this is very hard to prove and is mostly scare tactics. GM does log data but if you have more than a few thousand miles on your car, any trace of break-in has already been lost as the data logging doesn't go back that far.
- Neglect. Not getting regular service can void a part, but not the entire warranty.
- Off-roading when the vehicle is not intended for that purpose. Probably not an issue for most of us. Though this would not void the engine, but maybe the rest of the drivetrain and suspension.
- Environmental damage such as earthquake or fire. These are not GM's responsibility but your car insurance should help.
- Aftermarket parts "MAY" void other parts but never voids everything. Keep reading for more details.

The warranty is in place to cover manufacturer's defects. If a manufacturer's defect occurs and you have aftermarket parts, this does not mean your warranty will be voided.