Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions

Old 06-09-2011, 09:13 PM   #1
Stray800

Drives: 2011 Camaro
Newb - Halo question

Hey gang - I'm a newb here but have been lurking a bit.

Just purchased a 2011 Camaro 1LS and is being shipped to me and was wondering - I love the halo kits I've seen on some of the cars on here...is that something that can be added to all 2011 camaros or just specific to certain models?

Also is this difficult to get a local installer to put in (depending on the law)?
Stray800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:22 PM   #2
Bluestreak 2010

Drives: IBM 2010 Camaro LS
If you are talking about the AAC halo kits, they can be added to all 5th Generation Camaros.

I also have an LS, and am getting the OEM RS headlights (which for non-RS cars also requires a wiring harness you can get from Ottobody) and having these color changing halos installed by Showstopper: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=147129.

As far as I know, you shouldn't have a problem getting a local installer to help you out, but should look into local laws about which color lights you can have on the front of your vehicle. In most states red, blue and sometimes green are illegal to drive with. That's why I am going with the SJM halo kit, it always turns on white, but can be swithced to any color and even a strobe function for shows.
Bluestreak 2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:37 PM   #3
Stray800

Drives: 2011 Camaro
Awesome - that answers my question perfectly.

Been a while since I've been into modding so I'm sure I'll have 1000 questions from here on out... Thanks again.
Stray800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:48 PM   #4
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things

Drives: '20 Corvette Stingray