Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 12:11 PM   #127
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
I got a email from George Barrios and this is what he said;

Greetings Mr. Long,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to correspond directly with our Company.

Insightful feedback such as yours is invaluable to us, as it can oftentimes contribute to the refinement of our products and services.

We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience while using with the GM5201B and the cause of such results will be promptly and thoroughly investigated.

So as to resolve the issues that you are currently experiencing, may we provide to you a replacement interface that has been quality tested and functionality assured? If so, please feel free to indicate a preferred mailing address and a replacement interface will be promptly supplied.

We appreciate your generous patience and we look forward to further assisting you.

Best regards.

They sent me today my 3rd replacement dash kit promising that it has been Quality tested and the firmware is already updated. If this doesnt work I will be contacting them again till the final outcome is VICTORY for US!!! The only problem I have is when I was in Cali I had my installer there install it for me. So how hard is it to replace?
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:07 PM   #128
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL-1 SIM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
I got a email from George Barrios and this is what he said;

Greetings Mr. Long,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to correspond directly with our Company.

Insightful feedback such as yours is invaluable to us, as it can oftentimes contribute to the refinement of our products and services.

We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience while using with the GM5201B and the cause of such results will be promptly and thoroughly investigated.

So as to resolve the issues that you are currently experiencing, may we provide to you a replacement interface that has been quality tested and functionality assured? If so, please feel free to indicate a preferred mailing address and a replacement interface will be promptly supplied.

We appreciate your generous patience and we look forward to further assisting you.

Best regards.

They sent me today my 3rd replacement dash kit promising that it has been Quality tested and the firmware is already updated. If this doesnt work I will be contacting them again till the final outcome is VICTORY for US!!! The only problem I have is when I was in Cali I had my installer there install it for me. So how hard is it to replace?
I had mine replaced by an installer and it fixed the TPMS issue, but the other issues still persist. Please let us know if the replacement works out better.

-Rizzo
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:20 PM   #129
camaro104
 
camaro104's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 Nightfall 50th Annivers Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Woodland Park, N.J.
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to camaro104
Oh yes please let us all know how it turns out.....
camaro104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:37 PM   #130
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
I got a email from George Barrios and this is what he said;

Greetings Mr. Long,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to correspond directly with our Company.

Insightful feedback such as yours is invaluable to us, as it can oftentimes contribute to the refinement of our products and services.

We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience while using with the GM5201B and the cause of such results will be promptly and thoroughly investigated.

So as to resolve the issues that you are currently experiencing, may we provide to you a replacement interface that has been quality tested and functionality assured? If so, please feel free to indicate a preferred mailing address and a replacement interface will be promptly supplied.

We appreciate your generous patience and we look forward to further assisting you.

Best regards.

They sent me today my 3rd replacement dash kit promising that it has been Quality tested and the firmware is already updated. If this doesnt work I will be contacting them again till the final outcome is VICTORY for US!!! The only problem I have is when I was in Cali I had my installer there install it for me. So how hard is it to replace?
Not difficult at all. Simply remove the center dash trim piece around the shifter (snaps out) and the gauge cluster (if equipped) , and if so remove the gauges and the whole faceplate/kit will pop off (w a little TLC.) There are 4 small screws around the unit that holds it onto the back of the faceplate. Remove those and it comes right out.

I contacted customer service via e mail yesterday about my updates not installing and more importantly about the buttons sticking. Still no response. I explained I want them to ship a replacement first and I'll ship the defective unit back; I shouldn't have to sit with a gaping hole in my dash and no HVAC, door lock or hazards for their defective product that's brand new.
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:04 PM   #131
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
I got a email from George Barrios and this is what he said;

Greetings Mr. Long,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to correspond directly with our Company.

Insightful feedback such as yours is invaluable to us, as it can oftentimes contribute to the refinement of our products and services.

We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience while using with the GM5201B and the cause of such results will be promptly and thoroughly investigated.

So as to resolve the issues that you are currently experiencing, may we provide to you a replacement interface that has been quality tested and functionality assured? If so, please feel free to indicate a preferred mailing address and a replacement interface will be promptly supplied.

We appreciate your generous patience and we look forward to further assisting you.

Best regards.

They sent me today my 3rd replacement dash kit promising that it has been Quality tested and the firmware is already updated. If this doesnt work I will be contacting them again till the final outcome is VICTORY for US!!! The only problem I have is when I was in Cali I had my installer there install it for me. So how hard is it to replace?
Drago77 is correct on most parts. After you remove the gauges or tray their are 2 7mm screws at teh bottom that you will need to remove then the dash kit will come out.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:58 PM   #132
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,553
Yeah... here's a better update... I was typing from my phone before, this is a little better..

Unsnap the center console plate... once you get one tab out, work your way around with either your fingers or a trim tool... the 4 pack cluster will pop out with it (if equipped.)

If you do have the gauges, there's a wire harness plug to disconnect before you can get the trim piece out, never dealt with non gauges,assume it's still there for the ac plug and trak. controlls.

There are two screws directly at the back of the dash below the radio that need to be removed

The Scosche plate snaps on. Its cheaply made... and you've got to lift the far back portion (where the screws were) up and over the trim plate in the back but be careful not to break the incredibly cheap plastic weld they used to join the two pieces together... I broke mine on both sides... a lil JB Weld on the inside reinforced w Gorilla tape took care of this.

The unit itself attaches with (4) small phillips head screws, one at each of the furthest outward points. Simply unscrew those and the unit seperates from the plate. Then just unplug the 2 harnesses and your set. Pix below from tonight as I tried "loosening the rear screws" - technical instructions from customer service on how to "fix" my sticking buttons... didn't work, big surprise, huh?

Pic 1: Center console trim removed, with 4 gauge cluster

Pic 2: Harness under trim plate that needs to disconnect (My harness has an additional "segment" which controls my dashboard ABL.)

Pic 3: Rear view of Scosche kit still installed in face plate- note the outer most corner screws that need to be removed (3rd from center top/bottom)

Pic 4: Close up of (2) screw holes that were removed behind cluster before scosche plate removal

Pic 5: Scosche unit removed from trim (screws also removed) and 2 harnesses that need to unplug.

In case anyone is wondering... the black tape on the rear is covering the speaker for the door chimes/turn signals... the beeping annoyed me. This "queted" it. and the black cable is the USB extention to maintain the factory USB hub in the console.
Attached Images
     
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 08:05 PM   #133
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,553
On the side note of my buttons sticking... It appears to be something to do with the way the face plate compresses when installed. It worked fine when disassembled. Its a seriously tight fit behind everything, but nothing seems to be interfering with the scosche system... worked fine all the way until snapped back in... like I said before tho, it's all a tight fit
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:18 PM   #134
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
Wow Thank You all so much for the quick replys and help. I will be replacing this interface as soon as possible. I just enlisted back into the army so I have some stuff going on but I will let you all know when I can. Thanks
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:49 PM   #135
DJ UNKNOWN
 
DJ UNKNOWN's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Red Jewel RS
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Indpls, IN
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
You should def. have yours replaced. That is not normal.
But #'s 1, 2 and 3 are?
DJ UNKNOWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:48 PM   #136
CamaroFTW

 
CamaroFTW's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS-Rally Yellow
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via MSN to CamaroFTW
I have had had next to no problems with my Scosche..works perfect other then the remote needs to be used closer then the stock FOB. I love mine. Sorry others have issues.
CamaroFTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:14 AM   #137
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 757
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago77 View Post
Not difficult at all.


With all due respect this is BS

I had my system professionally installed and I just received my HVAC touch screen that scosche is replacing to try to fix the TMPS issues. I didnít want to pay the shop hours to have this replaced but I should have.
As far as your other instructions I would add some more input. The 4 gauge cluster and the Scosche kit fit really really really ( and I repeat) really tight in there so I recommend you remove your shifter (in my case automatic shifter knob). This is really important for the removal and putting back the center console. Put the gear in M and take it off.

To remove the scosche kit angle the kit out and push as far down as possible. When you pull out you are making it go over your double din and push the top down so it can be towards the top of your double din. Be very careful to not scratch your Double din! Once youíve done this you can put your hands under the kit and push as hard as you can up. This will make it go over the trim plate as quick as possible.

Putting the center console back in was the worst part of this process. I scratched my shifter bezel horriblyÖ luckily I donít give a D*** because im going to convert it to a leather cover instead of that plastic piece hopefully by next week just waiting for parts to arrive. 15 scratches later I finally decided to remove the shifter knob. Even with the knob off I had a difficult time setting the console but it became much easier. Once you have the center console past the light and traction control piece you need to grab that center console from the very back and pull up and in as hard as you can. Keep lifting it up even if its squeezing your fingers, just move your fingers a bit more back and lift and push up again. Your basically pushing the 4 gauge piece up against the scosche kit and pushing it up. Without pulling up an d pushing in the center console will NOT go into its place.

Thatís my additional advice to those of you who will be replacing the HVAC soon. Just save your self the headache and have your audio shop do them. Donít waste 2 hrs of your time.. its not worth the time or the possible scratches.

To those who sayÖ but you have the pleasure of doing It yourself.. BS I donít feel good at all. My 2 cents

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago77 View Post
Yeah... here's a better update... I was typing from my phone before, this is a little better..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago77 View Post
Unsnap the center console plate... once you get one tab out, work your way around with either your fingers or a trim tool... the 4 pack cluster will pop out with it (if equipped.)
If you do have the gauges, there's a wire harness plug to disconnect before you can get the trim piece out, never dealt with non gauges,assume it's still there for the ac plug and trak. controlls.
There are two screws directly at the back of the dash below the radio that need to be removed
The Scosche plate snaps on. Its cheaply made... and you've got to lift the far back portion (where the screws were) up and over the trim plate in the back but be careful not to break the incredibly cheap plastic weld they used to join the two pieces together... I broke mine on both sides... a lil JB Weld on the inside reinforced w Gorilla tape took care of this.
The unit itself attaches with (4) small phillips head screws, one at each of the furthest outward points. Simply unscrew those and the unit seperates from the plate. Then just unplug the 2 harnesses and your set. Pix below from tonight as I tried "loosening the rear screws" - technical instructions from customer service on how to "fix" my sticking buttons... didn't work, big surprise, huh?
Pic 1: Center console trim removed, with 4 gauge cluster
Pic 2: Harness under trim plate that needs to disconnect (My harness has an additional "segment" which controls my dashboard ABL.)
Pic 3: Rear view of Scosche kit still installed in face plate- note the outer most corner screws that need to be removed (3rd from center top/bottom)
Pic 4: Close up of (2) screw holes that were removed behind cluster before scosche plate removal
Pic 5: Scosche unit removed from trim (screws also removed) and 2 harnesses that need to unplug.
In case anyone is wondering... the black tape on the rear is covering the speaker for the door chimes/turn signals... the beeping annoyed me. This "queted" it. and the black cable is the USB extention to maintain the factory USB hub in the console.

__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:44 PM   #138
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 757
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
so just wanted to report that the new HVAC screen that schosche sent me saturday has been working good.

the TPMS issue i havent seen - but that takes a while to show up. its always random when it shows up

the remote start distance doesnt appear to be an issue anymore. I need to test the range but compared to what i had its definately working better.
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:02 PM   #139
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL-1 SIM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post
so just wanted to report that the new HVAC screen that schosche sent me saturday has been working good.

the TPMS issue i havent seen - but that takes a while to show up. its always random when it shows up

the remote start distance doesnt appear to be an issue anymore. I need to test the range but compared to what i had its definately working better.
This makes me think that the HVAC connection is causing some sort of interference with the Body Control Module. (BCM)
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 06:23 PM   #140
camaro104
 
camaro104's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 Nightfall 50th Annivers Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Woodland Park, N.J.
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to camaro104
How was it that we can go about getting a new HVAC screen????? should we call or send them an email?????
camaro104 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.