Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance: Washing, Waxing, Detailing, Bodywork, Protection

Old 06-07-2009, 02:26 PM   #1
Jferrell88

Drives: black 2ss/rs
How am i doing on paint care(Pics Inside) and Quick detail or Not?

New to detailing, never cared much about my truck i wanna keep the camaro in show room condition. I've had the car for about a month did a wax job about 2 weeks ago, been maintaing with quick detailer, heres the pic from this morning. Let me know how I'm doing. best shot i could get out in the direct sun.

AND!! how do i know when to wash or just quick detail dust is my major issue, is it ok just to use a duster and quick detail spots as needed or as yesterday i put about 150 miles on the car cruzing the back roads of wv and ohio and i accumulated a ton of dust. i dusted with the cali duster but it still looked fairly dusty so i washed to be safe , i was afraid to quick detail with that much dust in fear of harming the paint. What is the correct thing to do in these dusty situations?
Old 06-07-2009, 05:43 PM   #2
greg_74

Drives: 2002 Camaro SS
I would be extra careful with a new black car, but on my SS I've quick detailed the whole car after the car was clean and got caught in the rain and it worked fine. Now my paint isn't perfect at all though. With yours I would make sure you have that coat of wax on there and if it gets a little dusty just use your car duster and the quick detailer for smaller spots here and there but if there is a lot of dust I would just wash it so be safe. Its fun having a black car huh? Haha. Btw she looks nice.

2002 Chevrolet Camaro SS #7590
345 HP Package, LPP Headers and ORY, GMMG, SLP CAI and Smooth Bellows, PHB, Chrome TTM's
greg_74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 06:04 PM   #3
Jferrell88

Quote: