Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 12-13-2009, 07:04 PM   #1
PnCRedJwl2SS
Howdy! Pete here...

Drives: 2017 50th Anniv 2SS, A8, NPP, MRC
Question...Is a muffler delete legal?

That's my question...yep--I asked it! Look, I'm a total newb (noob?) when it comes to modding cars, so I'm very interested, but I want it totally legal. Not interested in doing something that isn't--even if it's undetectable.

So, if I decide to go do the muffler delete--is it legal to have the car with no mufflers at all? I imagine this might be different from state to state. I live in San Antonio, TX. Any knowledgeable folks out there? Please chime in.

Thanks!

PnCRedJwl2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 07:10 PM   #2
SSTony

Drives: SS Camaro
Send a message via AIM to SSTony
it is illegal. i went with loudmouth II cause its as loud as you can get with a muffler.
Old 12-13-2009, 07:11 PM   #3
lee

Drives: 2010 2ss/rs
you could have problems getting an inspection depending how hard core the place is you take it to, but i dont really see a officer stopping you and saying hmm you dont have mufflers
lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 07:18 PM   #4
coolman

In pa it's not illegal because that's after all the emmission crap. I checked with the guy that inspecs my cars. That what I would do if I were you.
coolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 07:21 PM   #5
OrangeChevyII

Drives: 2010 RS/SS2
The muffler delete is leagal, you still have 1 or 2 pending if its a 1s3/l99.
First to run 11's all motor
First to run 10's (10.96) and did it with a 100% bonestock long block and a power adder (nitrous)
First to run 10's (10.55) on motor in 2010 Camaro
First to break into the 5's (5.97) 1/8th mile