Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Specific Models / Packages > Camaro Convertible Forum

Old 04-24-2012, 05:34 AM   #1
dakota74

Drives: 2014 Summit White; 2SS/RS
Vert top rub marks

Hey all,

Just thought I would share my log of the issue with my own convertible top.

I took it to the dealer here in NJ (Pine Belt in Eatontown) and ended up having the shop manager as my service advisor.

I have been buying GMs for about 20 years now, and I don't hold on to my cars for years and years.....I've had (after racking my brain) a (current car) H3, a Grand Prix GXP (loved that one), a LeMans, 2 Grand Ams, a GMC Jimmy, a Chevy Silverado 3500 dualie, 4 Saturns, a Chevy Malibu, a Chevy Impala, and lastly a Buick Century (used car). So to say I've frequented my fair share of service departments over time is an understatement. I am impressed with how GM has evolved their owner's service experience over time -- I recall when you just spoke to the cashier person and you never even saw a mechanic - at all.

I like how it is now; at least from the guys I have been in contact with over the last I'd say almost 10 years, you speak to a person who more often than not knows what they are talking about (at least much better than the person from years past).

So anyway, the service manager I am now dealing with looked at my car about a month ago (I bought it in december) and acknowledged that there was indeed an issue (and this was before I really started to check out the forums on this problem and saw that it was a widespread issue) and told me that they ground down a few (two I believe) posts so that it wouldn't rub anymore. He told me to drive it for a few weeks, top up/down and whatnot, and see if the rubs get worse. If not, bring it back in and they'll do the work around which involved soap and water and brushing.