Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 02-16-2012, 05:11 PM   #1
Drilling2SS

Drives: 2012 2ss 45th anv
Camaro ss CAM questions

alright guys this is my first time posting to the sight hoping for some stellar help, this is my second 5th gen camaro, went from a 10 2ss ls3 to the 12 45ht ann 2ss ls3....love it....anyway, like to do a cam in the car

1. what cam recommend htis is my daily driver for 7 months of the year
2. is it worth it, "love the chug" of the cam but is power noticeable
3. tuning after a cam can this be achieved as easily as just buyin something like a jet, diablo, superchips ..etc
4.how long did it take shop to install cam
5. do you need to replace springs to, like a good cam witout goin broke

upcoming mods----cai, underdrive pulley, tuner, already did cat back american thunder series exhaust wit x pipe. Thanks in advance for advice
Drilling2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:27 PM   #2
Parag

Drives: 2010 camaro 2SS LS3
you really need a full dyno tune, they run 400-500. some people do remote tunes, but out of the box never work!!!
I do not recommend a cam for a daily driver, atleast a big power cam. A lot of people do dd their cammed cars though. the power is noticable, much more fun to drive.
go with the LG, or the other common cams on this site, there are hundreds of threads on that, just search.
takes a full day to install a cam.
yes you need to replace the springs, and all the little parts around them. most do the rods too. and new chain if you run the three bolt. my cam cost me 1100 in parts
go with manley Nextec springs.
oh and next time post in right section
Parag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:30 PM   #3
brantley847
v It bites.

Drives: 2011 IBM 2SS/RS