Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 10-12-2015, 12:09 PM   #1
ernie scar

Drives: Chevy/Dodge/Ford
Car storage for winter.

Disclaimer, first off I am not a mechanic, the following is only a guide line. If unsure get someone to help with storage, I am not responsible on how you choose to store your car or what the outcome will be.

I have however done a lot of research over the years because 2 of my cars are not daily drivers. My way of doing things may not be correct. But I have had no problems doing things this way over the years. The pictures here are of the 13 Camaro, but I use the same procedure for my other car; 09 Challenger.

This is long winded but bear with me. I see a lot of questions being asked about how to store the car over the winter months and here is my take on what I do to put the car away. I will also throw some pictures up so you can see what I do with my jack stands. Depending on what model you have the lift points maybe different (jacking up the car) read the manual to see where they are or look on this site.

Also taking the time to prep these cars for storage in my mind is the most important. Also write down on a piece of paper what you have done to the car for storage. I take the list and throw it on the front seat of the car. This way when you take the car out of storage you will be able to find the list on what you have done to the car.

I have been storing my cars this way for the last seven years. I even had to store my cars for 15 months at one time because of a move where I was unable to start the car and have had no issues. Don’t forget there are a lot of new cars that sit on dealer lots that are never started. These cars sit for months on end without being driven; also the cars sit outside; not in dry storage.