Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Old 07-07-2010, 05:12 PM   #1
motor1

Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS/M6.....no longer
2 sides of a tune

I have read all the threads about tuning and see now that 1 of them has been closed. I have read where the Mods speak of fraud, etc when the consumers try to circumvent the warranty denial by returning their car back to stock before taking it in for repairs. The problem I have is that this type of behavior would not take place if the manufacturers stepped up and repaired things under warranty when they should be. I have NO personal experience with warranty denials but have read the STORIES. If you destroy a transmission due to a TCM tune which changed the shift points past redline, etc..and a warranty is denied then that is understandable. On the other hand if you mildly changed the shift points for a better shift and the warranty is denied due to just having a tune then that is ridiculous. It is this type of blatant warranty denial across the board just because a tune was installed that makes no sense. Maybe I am missing something but manufacturers seem to just deny it immediately if you have a tune regardless of the specific reason for part failure. Maybe someone can provide an example of warranty claims because I do not have one to refer to.
motor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 05:53 PM   #2
Eric Baker

Drives: Black/Black 2SS/RS 6M
The problem is, the dealer making the repair has no way to tell how severe the tune is. As far as they know, the tune did cause the failure, even if it really didn't, because they can't go in and look at the parameters and values.
Eric Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 08:13 PM   #3
FLYNNZL1
Wicked ZL1

Drives: 2017 ZL1 A10 HBM