Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Specific Models / Packages > Camaro 1LE Forum

Old 10-12-2013, 04:11 PM   #1
Brandonmos

Drives: 2013 1SS 1LE
Winter GoodYear Tire Care?

Well, its already hitting the 40's in beautiful central Kansas and with that i have a question. My 1LE will be sitting out in the cold which can drop to single digits, there's no way around it- i'm a barracks soldier so i don't have a garage- much less a "heated area".

What i want to know is if there is a heater of some sort that runs every so often maybe some sort of tire warmers heated covers...? (and no i cant afford a set of winter tires and rims)

(I am aware the GOODYEAR bulletin says to NOT use heaters directly on the rubber but i really don't have a choice one way or the other...)

P.S: For the "shouldn't have gotten a summer car- i was not aware id be in Kansas when i got it haha)
Old 10-12-2013, 06:45 PM   #2
Wileycoyote

Drives: 2013 2SS/RS 1LE
I would try wrapping a heavy moving blanket around each tire then putting a outdoor car cover over the car on nights that its going to get that cold. It should be a quick and easy way to protect those tires. You can probably get 4 blankets and car cover for the price of 1 tire.
Wileycoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 08:25 PM   #3
Brandonmos

i think thats my best course of action. thanks for the idea!
Old 10-13-2013, 10:04 AM   #4
LRJet35

Drives: 2013 2SS RS 1LE
Can you put the car up on jack stands and take the wheels off and store them inside somewhere?
LRJet35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:06 PM   #5
Brandonmos

Unfortunately not, since my building is also where i work the superiors make sure it looks "presentable" at all times and i guess disassembled cars aren't good decoration haha.
Old 10-13-2013, 05:08 PM   #6
chipset35

Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS 1LE