Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 10-12-2014, 07:31 PM   #1
trcsr

Drives: 2018 2LT/RS Conv
Smile Experiences and Advice needed on CAI

I want to install a CAI on my '13 V6. Before I invest $300 or so in one I would like to hear from others about what make they have, how it performs, and how easy or hard it was to install. As a mechanic I would say that I am intermediate in knowledge, but not as physically capable due to age. Should I get someone to install it for me, or is it simple enough to install that I could probably do it or should I look for a mechanic to do it for me? I have looked at ads for a variety of makes like K&N, Apex, etc. but would like a little guidance from those who have done this mod. Thanks for any input.
trcsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 07:47 PM   #2
DRK NY8

Drives: 2017 Camaro 2SS
I have a CAI brand cold air intake on my 14 SS. I am a 1/10 when it comes to doing DIY things and I was able to install my own intake. As far as CAI as a brand goes, it is a reputable brand and does improve performance of the vehicle. Of course, this is just my opinion on the intake and its food for thought for you
Old 10-12-2014, 08:00 PM   #3
Indydriver

Drives: '14 2SS/RS Vert 6M/KTU/NPP/DTA/ARH
Another CAI owner on a '14 SS. Very simple to install with one exception: Do not tighten down the air box until you have it's leading edge engaged with engine bay sheetmetl.
Old 10-12-2014, 08:27 PM   #4
Ace0751
GEN5 Detail

Drives: 2011 Synergy Series 2SS Convertible