Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 04-26-2010, 09:48 AM   #1
respawn

Drives: 2010 Syn Green LE Camaro
Manual Trans -- what RPM do YOU shift?

So I have the synergy green stick shift V6 and I followed the owner's manual for the 1500 mile breakin (I am at 1600 this morning). I minded the 4k RPMs and stayed under on shifting. Well, this is my third manual vehicle and granted my last one was a Mazda B3000 truck like 7 years ago, but I think I am a pretty good driver. I would find that when shifting (especially from 1st to 2nd) that the car would "pop" or jerk back and forth a little between shifts. And especially if I was accerelating quickly. Passengers would say that I didnt know how to drive a manual, but I really couldnt explain why it was doing it. I experimented with slowly releasing the clutch, giving it more gas on release, etc. but seemed to always "pop" to some degree. I thought I was just rusty and it would get better with time, but after a month, I was still doing it.

Alright, so if you are still with me, now that the breakin is over I started in the last week pushing it to 5k RPMs before shifting. WOW. The jerking between gears is just about gone. Seems like the longer I wait (higher RPMs) the smoother the shift is. Shifting before 4K just seems to shift horribly, but the engine starts revving very high above 4k... so I dont want to go long before I shift. Is this normal? Do I just have a car that wants to go fast?

Question to you manual tranny owners: when do you normally shift your vehicle? Please be specific (# RPMs, different between diff gears? ie same RPM for 1st to 2nd as 3rd to 4th?)

Thanks in advance!
respawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 09:51 AM   #2
Big Brunsy

Drives: 2010 supercharged LS3