Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

Old 06-15-2014, 05:02 PM   #1
ZL1_TA

Drives: 2013 ZL1
Autocross Setup for the ZL1

Curious who has had their ZL1 on the autocross track and what setup you are using? I am new to autocross but have tried a few in my ZL1.

I typically run in PTM mode 5, 40psi in the stock tires. Have been running in 1st gear but sounds like I should be using 2nd.
Even in the PTM modes the car looses traction easily on the course and I am sure running in 2nd will be a lot smoother.... going to try this next time.

Would like to hear about your experience and car setup:

Everything off:
PTM on/off:
PTM Mode:
Tire Pressure:
Gear:
Others Info:

Tony
2013 ZL1 M6
Attached Images

ZL1_TA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 09:41 PM   #2
prostcj

Drives: 2017 1SS 1LE
Haven't autoxed the Zl1 but I would say for sure 2nd gear. Also, 40 psig sound like a lot of pressure. Usually you would run a little on the low side for the most traction.
prostcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 09:50 PM   #3
Stoneb1

I ran in ptm4, and for sure in 2nd gear. I started with tire pressure 35-36. If you are still on the stock Goodyear tires, then you are going to have trouble with traction in auto cross. They are pretty good on a road course where you can get some heat in them. In auto cross, not much chance to get them up to temp.
Stoneb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 11:53 PM   #4
ZL1_TA

Typically they recommend 10psi above standard for autocross from what I understand and given the car is so heavy maybe even more would be better?

Still running the stock tires and they are definitely slick when cold but around corners they seemed to hold ok it was the suspension that seemed be