Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 02-07-2017, 12:59 PM   #1
actor2120

Drives: 2017 2SS Garnet Red Convertible
Question Muffler Delete Question

Hi everyone! I have a 2013 Camaro SS and want a muffler delete as an affordable way to make my car sound meaner than stock, but I'm not real familiar with how it works. Does a muffler delete just refer to the back 2 mufflers or also the one in the middle of the car? Any clarification would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
actor2120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 01:02 PM   #2
imaSSnake
'Maro

Drives: 2015 SS 6.2L Auto 2SS
It refers to the two suitcases in the rear of the car
I'm new to these cars too but I think the box in the middle is a resonated H pipe
Old 02-07-2017, 01:05 PM   #3
actor2120

Okay, I'll admit the reason I asked is because I went to a shop today and asked for a muffler delete. They deleted the back 2 mufflers and replaced the center car muffler with a Magnaflow muffler. It cost me about $500, and I honestly can't even tell much of a difference. Idling is still practically silent. Does anyone have any idea why?
Old 02-07-2017, 01:34 PM   #4
davidscamaro

Drives: 2010 SS/RS M6 BIG cam
Magnaflow mufflers are quite tone mufflers , lots of packing that eats up the sounds
Old 02-07-2017, 02:04 PM   #5
myold88

Drives: SUMMIT WHITE 2SS/RS CAMARO
All I did on my L99 SS was delete the 2 rear mufflers with a Solo Axle Back kit.
Sounds great over the silent stock mufflers, and I wouldn't want it any louder.
IMO if the OP asked for a muffler delete set up, why was a new Magnaflow
muffler added? Makes no sense to me.
Old 02-07-2017, 02:11 PM   #6
Dmpsix

Drives: Black L99 2SS/RS
Quote:
Originally Posted by actor2120 View Post