Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

Old 08-18-2014, 09:38 AM   #1
Gen52SS

Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS
Need Advice 2014 2SS F Street Not Competitive Enough

I run a 2014 Camaro 2SS Automatic in F Street as my car is complete stock. My question is how can I make this car a LITTLE bit more completive with the 2011-2014 Mustangs I run with. This is my first year running autocross. I have been running since February at every event in 2 locations. I have attended EVO driving school and will be attending our local autocross school. I have somewhere around 150 runs as far as seat time. I understand seat time is a big factor but I feel at this point I've pushed my car to it's limit and while I've made some big improvements in my times I still fall short against these mustangs both 2011 GT with 200TW tires. Both of them have been doing this for many years so they have experience. We just finished an event yesterday for the first time a 2013 Camaro SS 1LE was in the mix and he beat both of them by 2 seconds. I just want to get my car ready for next years competition. Other then driver experience and I know tires with the new rules next year F Street tire must be 200TW what can I do to my car to make it more competitive and still be within the rules for my class. I had thought about dropping to 19" wheels with a square setup and go wider but the Mustang boys tell me I can't square my wheels and tires and stay in F street. I'm confused as to what I can and can't do. Want some advice from Camaro people with ideas that might help me.....thanks
Gen52SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 02:29 PM   #2
hcsi99
Cadillac Service Manager

Drives: 2014 Camaro 1SS, 1LE, NPP, RECAROS