Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions

Old 04-20-2011, 01:26 PM   #1
jerrold

Drives: Camaro
Status Discrepancy (Tracking Website vs. Dealer)

Hello all,

I am a newbie here and I apologize if there is an existing thread for this topic (I did not come across one), but I have a puzzling situation that I would like to share. A friend recommended this site to me.

A few months ago, I ordered a new Camaro. Up until this week, I have not been doing anything to track the status of the order on my own, only relying on updates from the dealer. A few weeks ago, the dealer called to tell me that my car had been built, and it would probably only be a matter of weeks before it would be delivered.

A few days ago, the dealer called to inform me that GM had my car on record as having already been delivered to the dealership - however, the dealer claims that they have no record of the delivery, and have not yet seen the car. I am told that GM is "looking into it" and that they would get back to me with more information when they became aware of it.

I also recently discovered the order tracking feature at chevrolet.com. The dealer provided me with a workbench number for my order, which does show the status of the car as having been delivered to the dealer and ready for pickup. The specs and window sticker are an exact match for those of the car that I had ordered, and the dealer's name is listed as the correct dealer for this order.

I guess my biggest question would be: Is it possible for the Chevrolet.com order tracking page to be updated with such a status if the car had not actually been delivered? I understand that mistakes can happen, but it seems to me that there should theoretically be some checks and balances in place to prevent something like this from happening.