Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance: Washing, Waxing, Detailing, Bodywork, Protection

Old 03-12-2017, 01:31 PM   #1
redcoats1976

Drives: LT W/2LT,blue metallic
random orbital polisher

a total NOOB to this level of detailing,im wondering if the griots garage random orbital polisher is a good choice.have never owned/operated one before and im going to try it first on my wifes grungy 93 nissan if i buy one.was thinking of the blackfire kit which comes with a couple of different polishing pads and two different polishes(i believe one is a compound).would this be a good choice?
redcoats1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 05:36 PM   #2
Joe M 2012 2SS

Drives: 2012 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcoats1976 View Post
a total NOOB to this level of detailing,im wondering if the griots garage random orbital polisher is a good choice.have never owned/operated one before and im going to try it first on my wifes grungy 93 nissan if i buy one.was thinking of the blackfire kit which comes with a couple of different polishing pads and two different polishes(i believe one is a compound).would this be a good choice?

The GG 6" R/O is a good entry level polisher. I used one for a year and had no problems with it at all. A friend of mine is still using it, and he's had no issues either.

It has a lifetime warranty.

You'll want more pads though. At least 2 more cutting, 2 polishing, and 2 finishing.

A 3 1/2 inch backing plate and some 4" pads are also a good addition if you want better access to smaller areas.

The paint on the Nissan is likely to be softer than the Camaro. Japanese paints tend to be on the softer side. I'd start with the compound on the polishing pad.

If your defects are not removed, you can step up to the cutting pad.