Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Other Generations > 1st & 2nd Generation Camaros

Old 02-02-2014, 03:20 PM   #1
drtwo

Drives: 2SS RS Yellow, Raptor, Vrod
Exclamation Want to have 69 Camaro built from scratch, who does this?

I've come to a point where I want to have a '69 Camaro built from all new parts. Frame to motor to interior. My dad had a '69 and I have a 2010 but want to make a matching '69 that I can then continue to tinker on and upgrade and actually drive. I'm not a mechanic but am pretty mechanical so would rather someone else put together the bulk of the car from new parts and be essentially drivable. I understand that it could be somewhat costly but would be worth it in the end. (I'm not sure if it would be more reasonable to simply buy a used Camaro and then gut it for the frame and a few key parts or if all new is about the same cost?)

Any idea what company or group or person with a good reputation does this kind of thing?

Last edited by drtwo; 02-02-2014 at 04:19 PM.
drtwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 05:47 PM   #2
blake-b

Drives: 2009 ZR1
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=1969+Camaro+bodies
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=1969+Camaro+frames

I had to be a sm@rt@$$ and do that. Honestly, you can buy all the parts. Typically, If you build it on a 1969 frame, it will titled as a 69. If you go aftermarket for the frame, it might have to be titled whatever year you go to get it titled. Make sense?

As far as companies, there are many out there. Any good body shop should be able to do it. There are still a lot of 69s out there for sale at decent prices. I have a 69 RS and was just contacted by the guy I bought it from. He now has a 69 SS he wants me to buy. Well, he actually wants to trade.