Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Old 07-08-2014, 09:29 PM   #1
DagoCountyGee

Drives: '15 SS
Need some help guys

Okay so I'm applying for a new job. It asks for my previous work history. The problem is up until this year I've been getting paid under the table for 5 years. Should I put that I've only been working this year? Or should I just put that I've been working for the past 6 years?
Old 07-08-2014, 09:32 PM   #2
jewel25
Mother of PWA Babies

Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS
If they do a reference check with the employer who was paying you under the table will they say you worked there for the last 5 years? If so include it on your resume. If you don't include it then it will look like you were unemployeed for 5 years. A recuriter wouldn't even look at a resume with a 5 year gap, unless you can explain that gap.
Old 07-08-2014, 09:34 PM   #3
skipinminn
Chiquita

Drives: 2013 1LE/1SS YELLO1LE 1 of Only 28
Self employed private contractor. for 5 years
skipinminn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 09:46 PM   #4
DagoCountyGee

So it shouldn't really matter right? I could say I was a working part time student. Which is pretty much true.
Old 07-08-2014, 10:02 PM   #5
DenverTaco07

Drives: 2017 SS 1LE, 2017 Volt, 2013 Pilot
Quote:
Originally Posted by DagoCountyGee View Post
So it shouldn't really matter right? I could say I was a working part time student. Which is pretty much true.
Tell them you were working for "The Agency", and that the only person who knew you worked there was killed by Russian special forces in Ukraine.
DenverTaco07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 06:57 PM   #6
satxrider
Bad 45th

Drives: 2012 45th Anniversay Edition SS
I would write in "self employed".

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk