Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 09-26-2023, 12:59 PM   #1
1LECRUSH

Drives: 2020 Camaro SS 1LE
Total Newb Autocross

Hey guys, last Saturday I participated in my first ever autocross. I've been a car nut since childhood, had a few interesting cars over the years but then dove in head first with my 2020 SS 1LE earlier this year. Decided to go for it and enter my first autocross. Bone stock car with fresh Michelin PS4S on it and a driver that has never done any kind of performance driving beyond messing around on back road, never anything on a closed course.

First run of the day I put it in Track drive mode and left the traction control fully on just to get a feel for the car and learn the track. Ended up running 70.41 seconds.

https://youtu.be/kxJiiFD9ZIY

https://youtu.be/gq-HtP37D0M

Run 2 I finally figured out how to get to the PTM Modes after a bit of struggling while in line. Decided to try PTM Dry just to see. Dump the clutch like an idiot and the car nearly stalls. 68.93 seconds this run, almost 1.5 seconds off! Feeling pretty good.

https://youtu.be/jLhkoXImMZY

https://youtu.be/Y0kzpZNS4a4

Run 3 switch to PTM mode Sport 1, per suggestion from another 1LE owner running way faster than me, still in Track drive mode. Now I can feel the car moving and I'm starting to gain confidence. Holy crap this is fun! All the way down to 65.10! My goal for the day was to shave 5 seconds from my firs time so I'm ecstatic at this point. Still had a poor launch and knew I could make up a little time.

https://youtu.be/HLDonfvfGhI

https://youtu.be/x5dRXCMlWUU