Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Old 12-31-2012, 03:23 AM   #1
PMJ
Seeking 9s on M6...

Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3 aka "BlackWidow"
Alky Control Meth Kit w/trunk tank Install

I finally got around to installing my new Alky control Meth kit while I had some time off over the holidays. The install guide was very helpful, but left me with lots of questions given I’m new at this stuff (I had a hard time validating the parts list J). Julio was also taking time off over the holidays, but to my surprise, he quickly responded to all my questions in e-mail! So I was able to complete my install in a few days (taking breaks for family activities). Thank you Julio!

I thought I would include some of what I learned and include some pictures I snapped along the way in case any other newbies are attempting this install. This is not a complete DIY, but may help aid the instructions that are included with the kit. Sorry in advance, I used my iphone for pics and was in my dark garage because it was cold outside...

One thing I liked about this install is I was able to do it in small chunks and the car remained drivable throughout.

I had to go with the trunk mount tank because I have a CAI cold air intake and scoop which already removed my windshield washer bottle which is typically used as the meth tank.

So I started with the tank installation:

Trunk Tank Prep: (you need to supply a bracket and HW to secure the tank)
The tank fits nicely on the driver side of the trunk towards the back (pic 1). You need to pull off the trim around the trunk to fit it into place (start w/the plastic wall on the back, and then the driver side wall – leave the front attached for now and push it up out of the way; I completely removed it later to modify it).