Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2012, 01:24 PM   #18
DON_RAFA
NY5THGEN
 
DON_RAFA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS/A6/SIM/IO
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FAST LANE
Posts: 857
Thanks a lot now I know
DON_RAFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:25 PM   #19
Rocks RS

 
Rocks RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cortland Ohio
Posts: 779
What size sockets are needed for this job? I have heard 15/16.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2LT / RS - Black w/IO interior & M6

Sporting MRT V1, Hurst short throw, and Injen long tube and loving it!!!

Also, over 125,000 miles and going.
Rocks RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 03:48 PM   #20
elpatofeo
LawBraker
 
elpatofeo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT/RS, 6 SPD MT, Sunroof
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 829
so my V6 manual transmission uses 75W90 engine oil and not transmission fluid? I just want to be 100% sure because I was abou to put transmission fluid it in. Please confirm before I do anything else. Thanks for your help!
__________________

Last edited by elpatofeo; 06-04-2013 at 02:22 PM.
elpatofeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 04:01 PM   #21
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by elpatofeo View Post
so my V6 manual transmission uses 75W90 engine oild and not transmission fluid? I just want to be 100% sure because I was abou to put transmission fluid it in. Please confirm before I do anything else. Thanks for your help!
Yeah, don't put automatic transmission fluid in a manual...
__________________
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 04:12 PM   #22
elpatofeo
LawBraker
 
elpatofeo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT/RS, 6 SPD MT, Sunroof
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 829
thanks for your help guys...almost made a big mistake.
__________________
elpatofeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 01:26 AM   #23
efpardo
Deep6
 
efpardo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro# 8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via Skype™ to efpardo
And so the automatic uses standard transmission fluid?
__________________

#8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM | Litho #165 |

My Journal: Erick’s Mistress
efpardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 07:53 AM   #24
etmx183

 
etmx183's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2LT RS, 04 Turbo Busa
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 1,428
The automatic uses DEXRON VI transmission fluid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by efpardo View Post
And so the automatic uses standard transmission fluid?
__________________
CAI intake, RX catch can, Nitrous Outlet Plate system, RX Ported Throttle body, APEX air scoop, SOLO HFCs, JacFab ported manifold and upper intake isolator, Solo cat back Mach X system, 3.91 gears, Weld RT-S, 1 piece DSS driveshaft Stall convertor by:CIRCLE D

TUNING BY:MagnumForce / HP Tuners
13.407@101.72 N/A 11/21/2015
HP Tuners /MATT@FSP
12.03@115.69 nitrous
etmx183 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:35 AM   #25
efpardo
Deep6
 
efpardo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro# 8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via Skype™ to efpardo
looks pretty easy to do by yourself. I was quoted $200.they also didn't know but they thought this vehicle might take 16 quarts.
__________________

#8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM | Litho #165 |

My Journal: Erick’s Mistress
efpardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:38 PM   #26
cadyshac
It's in the hole!
 
cadyshac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS L99 SGM 2013 2SSRS LS3 BRM
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,314
I did this yesterday, the site was down but I was still able to find your pic's of the drain and fill plugs on google images!! Thanks for posting this.
cadyshac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 10:11 PM   #27
suzbndt
 
suzbndt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS 2011 Mustang GT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Huntington WV
Posts: 275
tr6060 uses atf
suzbndt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 01:18 AM   #28
jmss
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Joliet IL
Posts: 110
The A6 holds 4.2 quarts?
jmss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 01:01 AM   #29
Inferno LT
 
Drives: 2011 Inferno Orange 1LT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by nak3dsnake View Post
Because unless the trans fulid is at operating temperature it will give you an inaccurate reading. The trans should read full when hot not cold. otherwise you will overfill it.

When changing an auto transmissions fluid, fill it up after you drain it. Then start the car and let it warm up. Once its warm top it off then run the trans though each of the gears a few times. Check it again and top if off. Then take it for a drive, checking and topping off after.
Or you can measure what you took out and put the same amount back in.
Inferno LT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 02:38 AM   #30
OUR72GTO
2010 SIM Beige RS 6M
 
OUR72GTO's Avatar
 
Drives: SIM RS 6M 66 Corvair Silverado LTZ
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kamloops,British Columbia
Posts: 4,625
YOU could have shown them the Owners Manual.
__________________
CAMARO.. 2010 The Heart Beat is back in CHEVROLET
Now let's put it back in America
OUR72GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 09:42 AM   #31
ez__rider
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro RS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Posts: 4
It seems the OP's pics are no longer up, so I took one over the weekend to help anyone out. I used a 15/16" socket on both plugs.
*Note- there is another "plug" forward on the trans, about a 9/16 size, that looks like a fill plug.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/album....ctureid=128127
ez__rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 04:20 PM   #32
Andy-AMSOIL
 
Andy-AMSOIL's Avatar
 
Drives: bicycle
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Digging for oil
Posts: 375
It's always smart to replace all fluids when you buy a new car... you clean out all metal shavings from break in. You also get to take out all oils that are not full synthetic to replace then with high quality oils
Andy-AMSOIL is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sealed Transmission?? Transmission fluid doesn't need change until 150k miles? DevilKnightFalcon Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 34 12-07-2009 07:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.