Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2010, 03:30 PM   #1
cybercoaster

 
cybercoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 ZL1 AGM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,490
How to program new key fob?

Sorry if this is a repeat question. I thought I saw a post on this a while back but search is not being my friend today.

The dealership replaced one of my keys (fob and all) under warranty. It just plain stopped working like it had an electrical problem. The new key finally came in and then they searched on how to program it. They said they would have to hook up the laptop and reprogram both of them and it would take an hour or so. I asked if I could just have the key and come back as I was in a hurry.

I thought I read somewhere someone said you could put in your key that works, flap your arms and spin on one foot (ok that parts not true ), and then put in the new key and it would program it.

Instructions?

TIA
__________________
APEX catch can, ROTOFAB, noweeds
cybercoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 03:56 PM   #2
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,286
1) stick old key into ignition and turn to "on" (it's the position before "start")
2) turn off and take out old key
3) quickly (like a few seconds) insert new key and turn to "on"

new key should be programmed.

takes 10 seconds to it.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:01 PM   #3
cybercoaster

 
cybercoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 ZL1 AGM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,490
Does it do any feedback that its been programmed? Like chirp/ding/display on the DIC?

I dont want to throw it in any kind of theft mode.

Thanks for the reply
__________________
APEX catch can, ROTOFAB, noweeds
cybercoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:03 PM   #4
CamaroScotty
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Your new SLP Camaro!
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Posts: 6,805
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroScotty
exactly what he said - or give the dealer $50 to do it.
CamaroScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:34 PM   #5
cybercoaster

 
cybercoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 ZL1 AGM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroScotty View Post
exactly what he said - or give the dealer $50 to do it.
The dealer was going to do it for free since it is covered under warranty. But they looked it up and said it was going to take an hour as they had to use the diagnostic tool (laptop) to program. I wish they were better educated. This is the same dealership that told me running 91 octane was bad for my car and would throw codes
__________________
APEX catch can, ROTOFAB, noweeds
cybercoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:41 PM   #6
vinman
The BBOMG fill-in husband
 
vinman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT/RS M6 Jack-O-Lantern
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 2,287
Good info!
vinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:44 PM   #7
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybercoaster View Post
Does it do any feedback that its been programmed? Like chirp/ding/display on the DIC?

I dont want to throw it in any kind of theft mode.

Thanks for the reply
It'll display a message similar to "New key programmed" on the DIC.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:38 PM   #8
R Kern
NFRNO SS
 
R Kern's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Holland, Pa.
Posts: 650
Not to hijack your thread, but this is key fob related. Has anyone replaced the battery in theirs yet? It looks like it snaps apart/together like others, but I wasn't sure with the switchblade.
The manual only says to take it to your dealer, and doesn't even give a battery number.
__________________
R Kern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:49 AM   #9
cybercoaster

 
cybercoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 ZL1 AGM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,490
On my bad one, the dealer popped it open and tried a new battery. So it does open right up. He did it in front of me but I didnt pay attention.
__________________
APEX catch can, ROTOFAB, noweeds
cybercoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:50 AM   #10
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Whiting Field
Posts: 14,199
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Just flip the key and pull at the plastic under the bowtie from where the key rests. It comes off pretty easily and exposes the battery.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 01:46 PM   #11
Betro02
 
Betro02's Avatar
 
Drives: Powerful
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Addison IL
Posts: 143
To program the key follow Mr Draco instructions for the remote you need a GM Tech II
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Betro02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 02:12 PM   #12
cybercoaster

 
cybercoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 ZL1 AGM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,490
Finally tried it today. It worked like a charm. The DIC shows how keys programmed when it completes. The remote for it works too. Sure beat the 1+ hrs dealer said it would take with the laptop.
__________________
APEX catch can, ROTOFAB, noweeds
cybercoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 06:51 PM   #13
Rob191288
 
Rob191288's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Andrews AFB, MD
Posts: 586
Wow Thanks! Saved me $125 the dealer wanted to program it
Rob191288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:05 PM   #14
wadew2lt
U.S. Army Veteran
 
wadew2lt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LT/RS SGM M6 Polished 20's
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Draco View Post
1) stick old key into ignition and turn to "on" (it's the position before "start")
2) turn off and take out old key
3) quickly (like a few seconds) insert new key and turn to "on"

new key should be programmed.

takes 10 seconds to it.
Can this be done to more than 1 new one at a time?

Thanks
__________________
wadew2lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:51 PM   #15
shockandawe

 
Drives: 2006 LeMans Blue C6 Vette
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Draco View Post
1) stick old key into ignition and turn to "on" (it's the position before "start")
2) turn off and take out old key
3) quickly (like a few seconds) insert new key and turn to "on"

new key should be programmed.

takes 10 seconds to it.
Anybody know if that works on a 2009 Malibu?
shockandawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:32 PM   #16
Rev_Rock
Jewel Red "Baby" 2010 RS
 
Drives: 2010 RS Manual Trans with the works
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound Texas
Posts: 2
The Dealership "They will have to hook it up to the system and it will take an hour AND cost$50!!!"
Reality; Follow these instructions and be done in 10 seconds!

Last edited by Rev_Rock; 05-31-2012 at 09:23 PM.
Rev_Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 08:12 PM   #17
cengell
 
Drives: 2LT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 8
I opened my key and saw it was a 2032 quarter size battery, about $5.00 at Walgreens.

Christopher
cengell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 06:38 PM   #18
netz
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 51
Is there anyway to program a remote start key fob to a manual car that doesn't have remote start and then program the remote start button to an aftermarket system like viper?
netz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 05:03 PM   #19
GearheadSS
Member #63
 
GearheadSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Lots
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas/Greenville, Texas
Posts: 1,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betro02 View Post
To program the key follow Mr Draco instructions for the remote you need a GM Tech II
No you don't. The remote programs with the same process.
__________________
GearheadSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 08:27 PM   #20
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by GearheadSS View Post
No you don't. The remote programs with the same process.
You do know that post was almost 2 years old right?
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:09 PM   #21
abassfield
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1
Thanks so much for this info, it really works and I called the dealer here to ask what it would cost for me to have the key program $90...
abassfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:39 PM   #22
hysonmb
 
hysonmb's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS / RS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 214
This is another of the many reasons I love this community!
I just got a new key fob, swapped the blade of the old one into the new one and programmed it for my car in less than 10 minutes!
Thank you!
hysonmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:37 PM   #23
jeremy87
 
jeremy87's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss/rs
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: katy tx
Posts: 24
im trying to do the same with my remote but am having trouble switching the blades. is it just as simple as pushing the pin out?
__________________
IF YOUR NOT FIRST YOUR LAST!
jeremy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:01 PM   #24
hysonmb
 
hysonmb's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS / RS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy87 View Post
im trying to do the same with my remote but am having trouble switching the blades. is it just as simple as pushing the pin out?
Yes. I used a tiny small nail to start the process then grabbed the other end with pliers before it fell out. It's tight but doesn't take a lot of force.
hysonmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:05 AM   #25
jeremy87
 
jeremy87's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ss/rs
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: katy tx
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by hysonmb View Post
Yes. I used a tiny small nail to start the process then grabbed the other end with pliers before it fell out. It's tight but doesn't take a lot of force.
Is there a certin side the pin must come out or does it not matter
__________________
IF YOUR NOT FIRST YOUR LAST!
jeremy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Start System Installation – Need Assistance Railcar Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 27 12-09-2013 04:51 PM
Key Fob Mod LED - My First Mod... Buhmblbe Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 15 12-07-2010 05:23 PM
Key FOB issue tradosaurus 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 1 08-28-2010 10:10 AM
Problem with Key Fob anyone? ffrcobra_65 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 8 12-12-2009 01:45 PM
2010 Camaro incentive run down as of 9/11 CamaroScotty Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 23 09-14-2009 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.