Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2010, 05:00 PM   #1
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
Subthump harness

I just got my harness today. I am wondering if I should get rid of the line out converter that is tied into where the rca's would normally be? He had none left with the rca's soldered on so steve just crimped on the loc. Should I pull it off and solder in some rca's? I am worried about sound quality with the loc wouldnt it be better with just straight rca's soldered on? It has an adjustment on the box. How do I know where to adjust it? Also will the signal coming off the harness be high or low output?
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:03 PM   #2
CAMARO_MOW
 
CAMARO_MOW's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 White 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 350
I can only answer the output which is low signal for bass.
__________________
2SS/RS Summit White with IOM Stripes and IOM Interior, Hurst Shifter....
CAMARO_MOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:07 PM   #3
joeyea323
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, LS3 M6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 39
As far as crimped vs soldered, I would always go soldered. Sound quality arguments are always very subjective so it may be tough to come to a consensus there, however soldering the connection DEFINITELY adds reliability. I worked for Circuit City in their install department for 2 years and I can't tell you how many times we've had people come in complaining that a speaker would go in and out only to find out that it was because of the crimp connectors used.
joeyea323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:10 PM   #4
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAMARO_MOW View Post
I can only answer the output which is low signal for bass.
so is that what the loc is going to do? Take the low level already coming out of the x3 harness and convert it even lower? Isnt that what loc's do take high level signal and convert it to low level? I am not worried about the crimping rather that idk how to adjust the loc and am worried the loc will hurt signal quality.
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:13 PM   #5
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,151
You need to contact steve at subthump. He made it clear to me that if anyone has any concerns to contact him directly. Send him a pm. He is very good about returning them.
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:21 PM   #6
joeyea323
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, LS3 M6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 39
The LOC is there to take the high level signal to the speakers and covert it to a low level signal. If you were to eliminate that LOC and solder on RCAs you would be pushing a high level signal through those RCAs. Check your amplifier as some amps support a high level input. If they don't, keep the LOC on.
joeyea323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:23 PM   #7
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyea323 View Post
The LOC is there to take the high level signal to the speakers and covert it to a low level signal. If you were to eliminate that LOC and solder on RCAs you would be pushing a high level signal through those RCAs. Check your amplifier as some amps support a high level input. If they don't, keep the LOC on.
mine does both. Are you sure it is high level coming out of the x3 harness. Were not splicing into the actual speakers.
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:31 PM   #8
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
here is what it look like
Attached Images
 
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:38 PM   #9
joeyea323
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, LS3 M6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 39
Looking at this site:
http://subthump.com/Chevrolet-GMC-Su...-Channels.html

Based on what he says in the install video, I believe you are right in thinking that the signal is low level and that the LOC is unnecessary. At around 0:34 The guy in the video says that it merely "borrows" the signal before it goes into the amp. I don't see any reason why GM would amplify a signal and then run that through another amplifier. If you are impatient like me and have a multimeter you could quickly test it to see if its low level. Otherwise, I would take Darth_Emma's advice and talk to steve about it.
joeyea323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:13 PM   #10
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
I soldered on rca's. So it should still be low signal?
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 03:01 AM   #11
Steve@Subthump
 
Steve@Subthump's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,085
All of you are totally overanaylzing the situation. Loc's convert speaker level signal to rca. Every pac adapter out there does this. Look at all the aoem devices. Each loc has a range of wattage where they are effective. We have found that some amps need this device anyway to balance the voltage. So eliminating the unit and using rca's straight on the harness isn't going to make much difference in the final output. But ou may end up needing it anyway, depending on your amp. There is plenty of signal there to be had, even if ran thru the loc. Just FYI, if we could have controlled the cost of buying the added unit a little better, every harness would've had a loc installed and looked identical to the above. Just because it's different doesn't mean it's not going to work or you should be scared of it. Hell, I'd put that one into my car anyday. In fact, the harness we used in Darth's SS is identical to that one and it works flawlessly.
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 07:12 AM   #12
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve@Subthump View Post
All of you are totally overanaylzing the situation. Loc's convert speaker level signal to rca. Every pac adapter out there does this. Look at all the aoem devices. Each loc has a range of wattage where they are effective. We have found that some amps need this device anyway to balance the voltage. So eliminating the unit and using rca's straight on the harness isn't going to make much difference in the final output. But ou may end up needing it anyway, depending on your amp. There is plenty of signal there to be had, even if ran thru the loc. Just FYI, if we could have controlled the cost of buying the added unit a little better, every harness would've had a loc installed and looked identical to the above. Just because it's different doesn't mean it's not going to work or you should be scared of it. Hell, I'd put that one into my car anyday. In fact, the harness we used in Darth's SS is identical to that one and it works flawlessly.
Ok thanks steve. Sorry about all the confussion again.haha
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 07:40 AM   #13
joeyea323
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, LS3 M6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 39
My bad, I have a habit of over-analyzing
joeyea323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 11:45 AM   #14
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve@Subthump View Post
All of you are totally overanaylzing the situation. Loc's convert speaker level signal to rca. Every pac adapter out there does this. Look at all the aoem devices. Each loc has a range of wattage where they are effective. We have found that some amps need this device anyway to balance the voltage. So eliminating the unit and using rca's straight on the harness isn't going to make much difference in the final output. But ou may end up needing it anyway, depending on your amp. There is plenty of signal there to be had, even if ran thru the loc. Just FYI, if we could have controlled the cost of buying the added unit a little better, every harness would've had a loc installed and looked identical to the above. Just because it's different doesn't mean it's not going to work or you should be scared of it. Hell, I'd put that one into my car anyday. In fact, the harness we used in Darth's SS is identical to that one and it works flawlessly.

What he said!!



In any case, the BA system, and non BA system for that matter, carry ~6VDC in the signal to the speakers. Some amps can deal with it, some can't. The LOC will eliminate the DC current, so those amps that don't like it will run.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subthump wire harness question SoTHavok Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 1 06-14-2010 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.