Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion

General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion Come chat about other cars.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2008, 12:56 PM   #1
496BIGBLOCK
L18 8.1 Liter 496 CID
 
Drives: 2008 Caddy DTS Performance Ed.
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 32
Saturn Sky Red Line GMPP cold air intake question

hey everyone!

Just got a quick question...

I bought a brand new 2009 Saturn Sky Red Line for my fiance, and at the dealership I had the cold air intake, catback exhaust and some other GM performance division parts put on it. With about 20 miles on the car from highway driving it smoked a little bit, which im thinking is just the burn off from one the car being brand new and also the catback exhaust being brand new as well. But, with around 80 miles or so on the car, the check engine light came on and when I called Onstar it flagged the code as something to do with the air intake feeding the turbo. Any suggestions? Im gonna take it to the Saturn place here in town to get the official word, but I had always heard to unhook the battery on a car or truck when putting a cold air intake on to let the computer re-calibrate for the new amount of air being pulled in.

I would appreciate any of your help.
496BIGBLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 01:50 PM   #2
Moose
Moderator
 
Moose's Avatar
 
Drives: '99 Camaro SS #1392
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Newtown, Pa.
Posts: 4,015
First, welcome!

Regarding your fiance's Saturn, if the dealer installed the items, they should have checked that everything worked properly, ie; calibrating the onboard computer.

I don't have any experience's with turbo's, but I've perfromed similar mods to my SS, and other than an issue with a catalytic converter, I haven't had any problems. And I'd be concerned with the smoke you say you saw at 20 mi.!

Personally, I'd get the car back to the dealer ASAP. They sould check that the mods. they installed will not adversley affect the car.

I hope that was of some help?
Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 04:59 PM   #3
MCPOAJ
 
Drives: NOTHING
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NE.
Posts: 674
XD i didn't know that gmpp even had a cai for the lnf
MCPOAJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 12:05 AM   #4
496BIGBLOCK
L18 8.1 Liter 496 CID
 
Drives: 2008 Caddy DTS Performance Ed.
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 32
Well, to add to the story... I changed the Driver info center over to the boost info, and it is creating 0 psi... so the turbo is not working properly. It WAS working when we first drove it, but now that the check engine light is on im just wondering if it is electronically preventing it from building boost. eh, either way its going to the Saturn place on friday.
496BIGBLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 09:56 AM   #5
MCPOAJ
 
Drives: NOTHING
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NE.
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by 496BIGBLOCK View Post
Well, to add to the story... I changed the Driver info center over to the boost info, and it is creating 0 psi... so the turbo is not working properly. It WAS working when we first drove it, but now that the check engine light is on im just wondering if it is electronically preventing it from building boost. eh, either way its going to the Saturn place on friday.
wait is your charge piping off of the center mount?? cause if it is then it might have knocked a sensor off and i'm still confused on how they put a cai on it???
MCPOAJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 09:43 PM   #6
496BIGBLOCK
L18 8.1 Liter 496 CID
 
Drives: 2008 Caddy DTS Performance Ed.
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 32
<~~ Scratches head...

well, It is in the same place the original air box was in... the one we ordered from their parts department is designed for the Sky... and it bolted right up. Easy enough huh?
496BIGBLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 02:26 AM   #7
Jamestwilliams
junior member
 
Drives: Grand Am
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by 496BIGBLOCK View Post
<~~ Scratches head...

well, It is in the same place the original air box was in... the one we ordered from their parts department is designed for the Sky... and it bolted right up. Easy enough huh?
You are having problems that seem to be directly related to the CAI you've had installed as your car has too few miles for the problem to be anything else. I don't recall a cold air intake being available for any vehicle equipped with LNF 2.0 litre turbo engine. The dealership may have installed a cold air intake for the base model sky/soltice which would have caused an engine code error. Your engine may think it is running too rich or lean.
Jamestwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 01:36 PM   #8
MCPOAJ
 
Drives: NOTHING
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NE.
Posts: 674
what it sounds like is they did an airbox mod took the stock airbox off put a new cai filter on it sure it'll seem like it bolts right up but the lnf is VERY picky about what kind of equipment you put on
MCPOAJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 01:50 AM   #9
496BIGBLOCK
L18 8.1 Liter 496 CID
 
Drives: 2008 Caddy DTS Performance Ed.
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 32
Thank you all for your input. The car is going in the morning to the saturn place, but I had my friend at the GMC/Buick place read the code and it ends up it is saying the solenoid that operates the wastegate on the turbo may be cracked. Apparently this must be a problem, since in November Gm created a bulletin about it. The cold air intake that I ordered was specifically for the Red Line model, so it shouldnt (operative word being shouldnt) have caused the problem. What I think has happened now is where the removed the old intake and the connecting piping, they may have damaged the solenoid doing so, causing the failure of the wastegate, preventing boost... hopefully that is all. I guess we will find out tomorrow.
496BIGBLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which cold air intake should I buy? VictoryRed08 General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 8 12-14-2008 08:36 PM
What Cold Air Intake should I buy? VictoryRed08 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 2 12-14-2008 11:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.