Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HAVOC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2010, 05:42 PM   #1
blcoonrod
 
blcoonrod's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 White LS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 13
Clutch switch?

I am a new owner of a 2011 V6. I would like to over ride the clutch switch so that the clutch doesn't have to be depressed to start the engine. I know that it is a safety feature, but I have always did it on my previous cars. Most of the time there is just 2 wires going into the switch, but on our Camaros there is 3 wires, and I would hate to jump the wrong 2 together and short something out.
blcoonrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:44 PM   #2
Merc
COTW 12/5/11
 
Merc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SSRS IOM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 8,163
Canbus system be very very careful or just don't do it.
Merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 01:27 AM   #3
cdn2usa
 
cdn2usa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Midlothian, Va
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by blcoonrod View Post
I am a new owner of a 2011 V6. I would like to over ride the clutch switch so that the clutch doesn't have to be depressed to start the engine. I know that it is a safety feature, but I have always did it on my previous cars. Most of the time there is just 2 wires going into the switch, but on our Camaros there is 3 wires, and I would hate to jump the wrong 2 together and short something out.

I had the same idea, don't do it, don't even disconnect the plug, you will be taking it to the dealer if you do.
__________________
Aqua Blue 2SS c/w factory white strips, MT.
Installed options;Tinted Windows, De-badged,
Hurst Shifter,CAI,Vmax throttle body, Kooks LT Headers, High Flow Cats,Borla Touring Axle Back, ADM Scoop, Washwater relocation,Diablo Predator(c/w Ted's Magic), Custom start defeat switch, painted engine cover, shark fin & bow ties, ABL lighting, Rear Camera.
cdn2usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:21 AM   #4
Superman09
Account SNAFU
 
Superman09's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Tahoe 79 Scout II
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 543
like mercuryman said, very bad idea. Best case nothing happens and you can still start your car, worst case you cross the wrong ones and your car wont start regardless of where the pedal is. My suggestion if you have your heart set on it find the wiring diagrams and do some serious studying. Otherwise no touchy
__________________
Superman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:40 AM   #5
Eric Baker

 
Drives: Black/Black 2SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 952
My wiring diagram is showing it's the yellow wire in the middle pin. It needs to see a ground signal through a 180ohm resistor. Only time I'd do it is with a relay for remote start purposes, not sure why you would want to permanently disable it.
Eric Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:43 AM   #6
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Just as an aside, why in the world would you really want to do this. You do realize if there is some electrical issue with your car and the dealer takes a look under your dash and sees this jury rigged they have grounds to void your warranty. I mean many wont notice or care, but why risk it?
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 08:16 AM   #7
Merc
COTW 12/5/11
 
Merc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SSRS IOM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 8,163
I have a MSD 2-step we were trying to install. We did a little probing to test for a hot wire in clutch switch to activate the 2-step. Bad idea caused a CEL. Can Bus system works on sending ohm signals. Like I said be careful. You can do damage probing around.
Merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:47 AM   #8
blcoonrod
 
blcoonrod's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 White LS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Baker View Post
My wiring diagram is showing it's the yellow wire in the middle pin. It needs to see a ground signal through a 180ohm resistor. Only time I'd do it is with a relay for remote start purposes, not sure why you would want to permanently disable it.
Thanks, I will also try to look into the wiring diagram. But if that is the case, then it should be fairly easy to do. The reason I want to do it, is simple, I just don't like pushing the clutch every time I get into it. I know, it's just being lazy, but in the winter I just open the door reach in start then go back inside the house until the car has warmed up. Do you happen to have the wiring diagram in a soft copy? If so could you send it to me? blcoonrod at gmail dot com. Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
Just as an aside, why in the world would you really want to do this. You do realize if there is some electrical issue with your car and the dealer takes a look under your dash and sees this jury rigged they have grounds to void your warranty. I mean many wont notice or care, but why risk it?

In the first case IF i did have some electrical problems and had to take it back to the dealer, I would put this back factory.
Secondly, I would not call this jury rigged. If I simulated what the clutch switch does, the car would never know the difference.
blcoonrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 01:18 PM   #9
Eric Baker

 
Drives: Black/Black 2SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 952
No sorry only have a hard printout.
Eric Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 04:00 PM   #10
ffrcobra_65
Account Suspended
 
Drives: SuperCharged 2SS/RS IOM MN6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 5,101
just don't let the dealer or your insurance carrier find out. Your property, your life, your concience. Do what you want.
ffrcobra_65 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Wire Dual Halos On Single Switch kismyss Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 54 05-06-2014 11:18 AM
I want a new clutch, you too????? Sign here tjbusa V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) 370 08-10-2013 03:27 AM
Clutch being replaced MillerTime V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) 29 10-25-2010 04:37 PM
Oil Change Ramp mjlash22 Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 17 01-21-2010 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.