Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BeckyD@RodgersChevrolet
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2010, 08:04 AM   #1
metallicide
 
metallicide's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 408
Which warning do LT headers throw off

Have a warning like light on my speedometer that looks like an alternator light or somtin...its orange and on the face of the gauge.....not sure what it is.
__________________
metallicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:17 AM   #2
Kwaz1335
The Kwaz
 
Drives: Black 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to Kwaz1335
Otherwise known as your check engine light? Get your car tuned by a reputable shop and they will be able to eliminate it. Your engine is throwing codes because the O2 sensors are farther away than original and are not heating up fast enough or getting too much of the bad stuff that cats are supposed to eliminate. You can either have your car tuned to have the secondary O2 sensors eliminated or you can insert O2 bung extenders.
__________________
Ordered:3/13/09
1100: 3/13/09
3300: 5/12/09
Picked up and brought home 6/26/2009
2010 Black on Black SS/RS Camaro
Silver stripe package
Ground effects package
6 Speed Manual Transmission with Hurst short throw, Magnuson Supercharger, SLP loudmouth 1 kit.
Kwaz1335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:26 AM   #3
SSMOKINHOT
obseSSed
 
SSMOKINHOT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In the garage doing mods!!
Posts: 1,884
I believe headers usually make the check engine light come on. Have you consulted the owner's manual?

http://www.c6registry.com/Technical/...maromanual.pdf
__________________
Proud to be COTW 12/19/11
My build thread -----> http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140034
SSMOKINHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 01:14 PM   #4
Alain

 
Alain's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS, RS, Manual. 2012 F150, FX4
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 1,612
get the bung extensions, cheap fix. payed 20 bucks for mine off ebay
Alain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:40 PM   #5
Big Daddy Kane
 
Big Daddy Kane's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 1SS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bethel Park, PA
Posts: 190
I would get the computer tune done. That way you can tune the computer for the headers and get even more power.
__________________

Kooks LT Headers/catback exhaust, E-force supercharger, JRE fuel line upgrade, JRE differential, 3.91 LPE gears, Roto-fab intake, JRE tune, DSS Carbon Fiber driveshaft, MGW shifter, Hotchkis chassis braces
Big Daddy Kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:55 PM   #6
Revo1
Don't Like it? Suggit.
 
Revo1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 14,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy Kane View Post
I would get the computer tune done. That way you can tune the computer for the headers and get even more power.
+1. Tune the beast, the only way to really get rid of that code.
__________________

"Tops off, tach up baby- loud and proud!"
A Camaro lover from day one- 1996 3.8 V6 Camaro, to 1996 5.7 LT1 Camaro Z28, to the sold 2002 5.7 LS1 Camaro SS, and NOW, a [I]6.2 L99 VR 2SS/RS: XS Power stainless full exhaust, Airaid CAI, BMR drop springs and sways, custom tune by Cal Speed- 411rwhp
Revo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:24 PM   #7
metallicide
 
metallicide's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revo1 View Post
+1. Tune the beast, the only way to really get rid of that code.
I realize this was a stupid question the way I worded it. I left out some info. I thought it was something electrical because my remote start wouldnt work but I guess a check engine light disables remote start.

Getting tuned next week when the S/C goes on. Just have to deal with it until then.
__________________
metallicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:01 PM   #8
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
I installed my kooks a week and a half ago, and I don't have a tune as of right now. for the first week the CEL did not come on but a few days ago it came on. people say it doesn't affect anything but I have notice the car doesn't change gears the same. I have a L99 and if I'm in 5th gear and push the gas a little it would normally drop into 4th gear. now I have to push it even harder to get it to drop into 4th.
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 2809 12-16-2014 12:49 PM
V8 Camaro Performance Upgrades List Milk 1027 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 85 11-11-2013 01:48 PM
Want to buy LT headers....Do I need a new fuel pump or ??? Z71456 Forced Induction - V8 12 10-17-2010 06:14 PM
BBK LT Headers + FM American Thunder? rd-camaro Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 22 06-07-2010 08:38 AM
Will LT headers cause check engine light? jpizzle007 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 12 06-03-2010 03:22 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.