Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
MPD1
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2010, 10:58 PM   #1
raider8654
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 39
Fuse Pull Still Needed?

Just bought a new victory red 2011 2SS yesterday! My first car (have driven a truck for the past seven years). Quite a nice change.

Anyway, my question is in regards to the fuse pull to reset the octane tables. I do not know which type of gas the dealer put in the car, but could very well have been 87 since that's a cost-cutting measure for them. As a result, based on what I have read elsewhere, it seems like doing that will put the ECU into a lower performance mode and the only way to get out of it is to do a fuse pull of fuse #5 and #20.

But, that is based on posts from several months ago. I was wondering if GM had fixed the issue, such that the ECU will properly reset on its own once I refill the tank with higher octane gas? In other words, is it still necessary to do a fuse pull after I put in the good stuff?

Or would doing a fuse pull of all the fuses and leaving it overnight help just in general? I have the L99 A6.

Thanks!

Daniel
raider8654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 11:02 PM   #2
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 7,810
I believe it remains an issue that affects all V8 Camaros. Even the new ones. Run the gas down to empty and fill up with the good stuff if you think they might have put 87 in. Then do the fuse pull. No big deal. You might not even need to but it never hurts.
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 11:19 PM   #4
raider8654
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 39
Okay, I'll plan on doing that tomorrow evening and keep the fuses pulled out overnight, and then put them back in the next morning.

It's been pretty good so far. Between the fuse pull and the fact it's not quite broken in yet (only 130 miles so far), it can only get better!
raider8654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 11:38 PM   #5
Entaille

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Everett
Posts: 995
it takes all of 10 seconds to remove them and all of 10 seconds to put them back. it's worth the piece of mind to just do a fuse pull since you can't verify what the dealer put in.
__________________

Entaille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:24 AM   #6
Wolverine1
 
Wolverine1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS LS3 CGM
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: China, MI.
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to Wolverine1
It can't hurt!!!
Wolverine1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:55 AM   #7
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 24,405
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38964
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:40 AM   #8
KEEP RT
Wonderfully Awful Idea
 
KEEP RT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 1,781
Most important.....Congrats on your new car!!!!!
__________________
KEEP RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:45 AM   #9
AFblueSS
U.S.A.F. Retired
 
AFblueSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Imperial Blue 2010 Camaro 1SS / 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 202
Send a message via Yahoo to AFblueSS
I just pulleed mine last weekend, after owning the car for 6 months and putting 93 in it the entire time!

A HUGE difference! Smoother Idle, MORE power, and better gas mileage!
AFblueSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:51 AM   #10
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,092
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
Make sure you have ran out all the old gas first and run a tank of high octane thru it first. Other wise if it still has the low octane gas it will revert to the low tables real fast.
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:52 AM   #11
montreal2010yellow


 
montreal2010yellow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2 LT/RS YELLOW, AUTO., VIN NO. 602
Join Date: May 2010
Location: LAVAL (10 min. north of Montreal), CANADA
Posts: 3,531
v6

Would that be true for V6. I know we should'nt put High Octane is a V6 but my garage has 3 types of octane and I use the middle one. Don't remember the number though.
montreal2010yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:58 AM   #12
Jayson9
 
Drives: 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 254
The 87, 88, and 89 RONs are all pretty much the same depending on were you gas up at. The only difference I noticed is the additives - the 89 at BP/Ammoco may have more cleaners in it. Never noticed any bump in performance in other cars. But, you can always try it out.
Jayson9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 12:20 PM   #13
ffrcobra_65
Account Suspended
 
Drives: SuperCharged 2SS/RS IOM MN6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 5,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by raider8654 View Post
Just bought a new victory red 2011 2SS yesterday! My first car (have driven a truck for the past seven years). Quite a nice change.

Anyway, my question is in regards to the fuse pull to reset the octane tables. I do not know which type of gas the dealer put in the car, but could very well have been 87 since that's a cost-cutting measure for them. As a result, based on what I have read elsewhere, it seems like doing that will put the ECU into a lower performance mode and the only way to get out of it is to do a fuse pull of fuse #5 and #20.

But, that is based on posts from several months ago. I was wondering if GM had fixed the issue, such that the ECU will properly reset on its own once I refill the tank with higher octane gas? In other words, is it still necessary to do a fuse pull after I put in the good stuff?

Or would doing a fuse pull of all the fuses and leaving it overnight help just in general? I have the L99 A6.

Thanks!

Daniel

Why not do it anyway? It is so darn easy and takes seconds to do, it is free, and hurts nothing. Definitely on L99s.
ffrcobra_65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 12:55 PM   #14
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 7,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by montreal2010yellow View Post
Would that be true for V6. I know we should'nt put High Octane is a V6 but my garage has 3 types of octane and I use the middle one. Don't remember the number though.
The V6 has never required premium fuel so it doesn't pull the timing like the V8 does so no fuses need to be pulled to reset anything. However some V6 owners have reported that using premium fuel gives them better performance. So if you switched to a higher octane that MIGHT improve throttle response some, but again no need to mess with the fuses.
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 01:14 PM   #15
montreal2010yellow


 
montreal2010yellow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2 LT/RS YELLOW, AUTO., VIN NO. 602
Join Date: May 2010
Location: LAVAL (10 min. north of Montreal), CANADA
Posts: 3,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by v6sonoma View Post
The V6 has never required premium fuel so it doesn't pull the timing like the V8 does so no fuses need to be pulled to reset anything. However some V6 owners have reported that using premium fuel gives them better performance. So if you switched to a higher octane that MIGHT improve throttle response some, but again no need to mess with the fuses.

Thanks!
montreal2010yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 01:34 PM   #16
TooCool5
Resident Gearhead
 
TooCool5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LS 3.6 LLT V6 325 HP
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 3,579
If your car is running good and gets decent mileage, leave it alone.
The fuse pull was for vehicles having performance issues.
The ECU has to learn all the sensors on a new car.
__________________
2010 Camaro Auto, Inferno Orange, Titanium Interior, Gearhead Wheels AIRAID CAI
TooCool5 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pull fuse 5 and 20 fact or fiction? hansenp Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 18 07-28-2013 04:57 PM
fuse pull goose2011 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 5 10-12-2010 07:57 PM
A way to tell if you need the fuse pull looking at timing? defragme Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 2 12-07-2009 08:48 PM
FUSE PULL CJ Offshoredude Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 1 11-26-2009 01:59 PM
LS3 fuse pull larietrope Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 15 11-19-2009 07:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.