Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cold Air Inductions
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2011, 11:08 PM   #309
mlee
Moderator
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 28,788
Sounds like you're not going to be able to use them... Should be able to continue on and get tuned until you can check in w/ Fastlane on Monday. Probably wouldn't do a lot of driving that way though...
Attached Images
 
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:13 PM   #310
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
Sounds like you're not going to be able to use them... Should be able to continue on and get tuned until you can check in w/ Fastlane on Monday. Probably wouldn't do a lot of driving that way though...
Well. I'm down without a fuel line anyway. I looked up fastlane pipeline and it says it works perfectly with the maggie and the picture shows it, but this damn thing ain't flowing well.

I bent the hell out of the oem hard fuel line and condensed it to fit, but not sure if I better do it. lol



There is a brace right back here, but the maggie has the throttle body sitting out a bit more that stock.

Name:  Capture[1].JPG
Views: 261
Size:  64.4 KB
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:35 PM   #311
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 10,532
can't you just cut that silicon boot to fit? or is the TB that much farther forward?

i know when i got my LG intake, i had to cut the silicon connectors because it was almost 1/2" too long to fit.
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:38 PM   #312
GJG

 
GJG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Posts: 873
i don't have that cai but for what it's worth i cut some of the tube at the throttle body end to help the fitment.....
__________________
Sleep well America.....my MARINE has your back......
GJG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:39 PM   #313
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
I can make it fit. But the braket is about an inch and a half away from where it was.

Oh, and stand by. I'm gonna ask you something. lol

I bent the fuel oem fuel line around where I can hook it up. UGLY as hell, but it may do till I get one. At least where I can have it going.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:52 PM   #314
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
The fuel line I will get is only about 8 inches long and goes straight up to the fuel rail.



Name:  100_1984.JPG
Views: 286
Size:  140.5 KB

Name:  100_1985.JPG
Views: 290
Size:  105.8 KB
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:57 PM   #315
GJG

 
GJG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Posts: 873
the throttle body is forward more than stock.....fastane either has a different bracket or you have to cut the tube off to make up the difference....

like that fuel line!!!
__________________
Sleep well America.....my MARINE has your back......
GJG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:02 AM   #316
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by GJG View Post
the throttle body is forward more than stock.....fastane either has a different bracket or you have to cut the tube off to make up the difference....

like that fuel line!!!
If I cut the tube, I'll have to cut too much for my liking.

But, like Mike said, I can use it for now. I still gotta play with it a bit.

The tube buts right up to the Throttle Body. If I wer to cut the actual tube far enough, it would be into the bend.
__________________

Last edited by PQ; 01-09-2011 at 12:21 AM.
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:24 AM   #317
GJG

 
GJG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Posts: 873
longer bolt with a spacer bushing between the bracket and engine block???
__________________
Sleep well America.....my MARINE has your back......
GJG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:27 AM   #318
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 10,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by GJG View Post
longer bolt with a spacer bushing between the bracket and engine block???
that's what i was gonna say
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:28 AM   #319
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 14,569
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
The fuel line I will get is only about 8 inches long and goes straight up to the fuel rail.



Attachment 197286

Attachment 197287
Randy, do not cut anything yet....in the morning take the bracket bolt out, and go to a good hardware store. find a piece of all thread and get some nuts to go with it. screw in the all thread and determine how long it needs to be. cut it off with a hacksaw and run it into the head or whatever that is...run a washer on first and then a nut. tighten it to the base to stiffen the mount. then run a second nut on and screw it just past the inside of the bracket for the intake pipe. Now add two washers on, one against the nut inside the bracket and the other outside the bracket. Now all you have to do is run one more nut on and adjust them to fit properly and then tighten them down against each other...

this should secure it firmly until you can get an opinion on other fix's. I would not cut anything until you know for sure...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:30 AM   #320
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 14,569
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
I went back and looked again, the first nut a d washer will secure the power steering bracket to the block or head, and the rest will secure the bracket for the air intake...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:32 AM   #321
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by GJG View Post
longer bolt with a spacer bushing between the bracket and engine block???
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
that's what i was gonna say
Or a bolt with extra threads on top. Like the coil pack threads.

It'll work but it kinda sucks because, though I can make it meet the other tube, it will have to come out of the TB crooked. I may have to change up the bottom bracket on the other tube too.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:34 AM   #322
Merc
In The Circle
 
Merc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SSRS IOM M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 10,740
OOOOOOOOH the drama. Looks like your close.

__________________
Merc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get engine cover modified after a Maggie install? 1meanss Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 5 03-05-2011 10:00 PM
Another Maggie install .... Luvpilot Forced Induction - V8 9 06-20-2010 10:00 PM
maggie install, hose routing suggestions please n2oSS Forced Induction - V8 6 05-31-2010 04:59 PM
DIY : Install catback on 2010 Camaro SS Nine Ball Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 3 08-09-2009 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.