Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SNL Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Off-topic Discussions Discuss any off-topic subjects with other members.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2009, 04:31 PM   #1
T! E! X! A! S!
 
Drives: No car
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 77
Surround Sound Help!

I have a 5.1 surround system. I have my xbox 360's fiber optic cable going to my reciver, So I get great sound from that. But my ps3 and cant get true hd/5.1 dts sound from it. I tried connecting my ps3 to my reciver with the hdmi then another hdmi going from the reciver to the Tv. I changed all of the settings on my ps3 to hdmi 5.1 all of that stuff but still no sound!! Then I tried using a fiber optic cable from my ps3, changed the settings to fiber optics, but the cord was really loose going from the ps3 to the reciver and still had no sound. The last thing that I tried was to use my hdmi from my ps3 to my bravia then use a fiber optic cable from my tv to the reciver. Didint know if I had to change the settings on the tv but there still wasint any sound.

This probablly made no sense.. But if anyone has experince with Surround sound. Please help me.
T! E! X! A! S! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 05:46 PM   #2
Rodrunner
Senior Member
 
Rodrunner's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS, '06 350Z
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: So. Maryland
Posts: 2,333
If both PS3 outputs, HDMI and optical, provide NO sound, I'd say your PS3 has a problem.
__________________
2SS/RS - Black/Black - CGM Rally Stripes - Auto - VIN 10171
Rodrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 05:49 PM   #3
Camaro_Corvette
36.833283,-76.021958
 
Camaro_Corvette's Avatar
 
Drives: Team 1LE
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 22,958
If you hooked it directly into the tv and still didn't get sound then it is either one of two things:

1. Your doing something wrong.

2. PS3 has issues.

Probably option 2.
__________________
Camaro_Corvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 05:55 PM   #4
rocknrollcali87
 
rocknrollcali87's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Chevrolet Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 227
The PS3 only gives you two choices for sound and that's by hdmi connection or by fiber optic

You can try to route the sound to your reciever via coaxial or fiber optic connection from your television. Some tv's have coaxial and some have fiber optic which is a drawback.

If you connect directly from PS3 to Receiver it disables the hdmi sound output.
__________________


It's 4 fat guys in a Geo up a hill, we can't go any faster!!
rocknrollcali87 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for Sound paulv7260 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 4 01-09-2009 10:21 AM
67 conv. sound bar br9467 1st & 2nd Generation Camaros 0 12-27-2008 09:23 PM
Sound check MustangKillr 4th Generation Camaros 8 10-08-2008 09:54 AM
Muscle car exhaust sound linkwpc 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 19 12-09-2007 06:50 AM
Driving the Camaro (with sound) Mr. Wyndham Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery 12 07-27-2007 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.