Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Circle-D
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2015, 12:27 AM   #1
Rb737
 
Drives: 2012 1LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 58
Scosche kit install issue

Hello Everyone,

I hope you are all doing well and thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

I'm installing the scosche GM5201AB into my 2012 camaro 1lt rs without boston acoustics setup. Radio I'm installing is a pioneer avic8000nex.

My issues. 1) ive followed the instruction saying to let the car go into sleep mode and then plugged the 8 and 24 pin connectors in then cycled the ignition from off to run twice but regardless the unit will not control the HVAC and the windshield Defroster is always on and won't turn off. Also when I hold set to select my vehicle only ford f150,edge,Edge and Explorer show up on the list. Also my touch screen does not show the bottom Defroster options.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. I can't figure it out and I'm about to lose it.

Last edited by Rb737; 11-17-2015 at 01:16 AM.
Rb737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 07:00 PM   #2
CreeperRS

 
CreeperRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS 1LE NPP RECARO's
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 905
You may have a defective unit.
__________________
Z/28 CAI, BW PTB, EE CC, XPEL, 3M Ceramic tint 55%F, 5%R.

CreeperRS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 09:33 AM   #3
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL-1 SIM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 453
I agree that you likely have a defective unit. There have been a number of issues with the kit, detailed here:

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=246752
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 07:56 PM   #4
jeffa
 
Drives: 2014 2LT/RS Ashen Gray Metallic
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 553
Your kit seems to have the wrong software loaded......
jeffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 05:43 PM   #5
spadz93

 
spadz93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Norwood NJ
Posts: 1,832
Dash kit could need a firmware flash. Contact scosche to get the correct firmware and update instructions. The dash unit is also incredibly flawed to begin with, which is a shame because the alternative (the metra kit) just doesn't look as nice
__________________
Some mods. 415rwhp/401rwtq
spadz93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2015, 03:33 AM   #6
CamALot
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SSRS Black on Black
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 79
scosche unit does not support cars with factory nav... could be the issue you are having
CamALot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2015, 02:12 PM   #7
Rb737
 
Drives: 2012 1LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 58
Hey Everyone, thanks for the posts and for the help. I ended up getting a hold of scosche and they sent me new correct firmware to flash into the unit. Seems my unit had the incorrect firmware on it which was actually for a Ford. I did the update wit ha USB and now it works like a charm.

Thanks again for all the help.
Rb737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2015, 07:34 PM   #8
CreeperRS

 
CreeperRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS 1LE NPP RECARO's
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 905
Np
__________________
Z/28 CAI, BW PTB, EE CC, XPEL, 3M Ceramic tint 55%F, 5%R.

CreeperRS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:24 PM   #9
Jrichards73

 
Jrichards73's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Victory Red
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 794
I love the internet.... Mine is doing this as well in a 2011, I will flash it tomorrow and cross my fingers!
__________________
Jrichards73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 09:20 PM   #10
WeflyhereSS
 
WeflyhereSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 black on black Camaro 2ss
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 566
either firmware or defective unit...
__________________
"How do u keep it under the speed limit? YOU CANT HAHAHAHA"
WeflyhereSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 11:38 AM   #11
LiveWire195
 
LiveWire195's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 109
I just got this from Scoshe Tech Support.

Greetings,

You’d want to put your AC panel into demo mode in order to perform the update.


Please follow these steps in sequence in order to so and perform the update:
1. Download the firmware, remove the files from the folder, and place the 2 files on an empty flash drive.
2. Turn the vehicle off.
3. Disconnect the 8 pin connector from the back of our UAC kit.
4. Plug the flash drive into the USB port.
5. Turn the car to the “On” position.
6. Press and hold the fan + and the power button (top left and bottom left buttons) on the UAC kit.
7. While pressing and holding the two buttons on the kit, plug the 8 pin connector back into the kit.
8. You should get the Scosche “splash” screen and the kit should take the firmware update. (You can let go of the two buttons once you see the unit power on.)
9. The screen will count up to 100 and say “Done” if successfully updated. If it says “Done without counting up to 100 then it already had the most up to day firmware. If it says “Failed” try again.

Excuse the blurriness of the video, but this link demonstrates a successful update.

This should allow you to successfully perform the update. If you are still having issues, you might want to try using a different flash drive. We have encountered instances where users have had to use 2 or 3 different flash drives before they successfully loaded the firmware.

After performing the update, you’ll most likely have to cycle the key so the touch screen module can re-learn the vehicle.

Turn the car off, then cycle the ignition 3 times, the first 2 times from off to run or accessory and then actually start the vehicle on the 3rd attempt.
After starting the vehicle press and hold the “Set” button for 10 seconds. It should take you to the vehicle selection screen and make sure to select Camaro. Ensure all the vehicle trim and AC options are correct.


Best Regards,

Tony L
Customer service
Scosche Industries Inc.
1550 Pacific Ave, Oxnard, CA 93033
805-486-4450 x140 Office
800-363-4490 x140 Toll Free
805-486-9996 Fax
tonyl@scosche.com

ACCESSORIES FOR LIFE DRIVEN BY SOUND
consumer technology | car audio | health + fitness

______________________________

YouTube Link:
LiveWire195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 08:31 PM   #12
Jrichards73

 
Jrichards73's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Victory Red
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 794
No Go... It updated but still nothing.
__________________
Jrichards73 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.