Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hines Performance (HPE)
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion

General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion Come chat about other cars.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2011, 02:33 PM   #1
SEMA Action Network
 
SEMA Action Network's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 118
Pro-Hobbyist Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Reintroduced in New York

http://www.semasan.com/main/main.aspx?id=62846

SEMA model legislation to create a vehicle titling and registration classification for street rods and custom vehicles has been reintroduced in the New York State Assembly. Introduced by Assemblyman Bill Reilich, the bill (A.B. 2073) defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 25 years old and manufactured after 1948. Under the bill, kit cars and replica vehicles will be assigned a certificate of title bearing the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble. An identical bill has been introduced in the New York State Senate (S.B. 201).

We Urge You to Contact Members of the New York Assembly Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for A.B. 2073
  • A.B. 2073 provides specific registration (one-time registration fee of $23) and titling classes for street rods and customs, including kits and replicas.
  • A.B. 2073 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.
  • A.B. 2073 exempts street rods and customs from a range of standard equipment requirements (only that equipment required in the model year that the vehicle resembles) and emissions inspections.
  • A.B. 2073 provides that vehicles titled and registered as street rods and custom vehicles may only be used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.
  • A.B. 2073 provides for special license plates for street rods and custom vehicles and permits the use of blue dot taillights.
DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the Assembly Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for A.B. 2073.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

New York Assembly Transportation Committee
Assemblymember David Gantt – Chair
Phone: 518/455-5606
Email: GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Marcos Crespo
Phone: 518/455-5514
Email: CrespoM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michael Cusick
Phone: 518/455-5526
Email: CusickM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michael DenDekker
Phone: 518/455-4545
Email: DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Dennis Gabryszak
Phone: 518/455-5921
Email: GabryszakD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Sam Hoyt
Phone: 518/455-4886
Email: HoytS@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Tony Jordan
Phone: 518/455-5404
Email: JordanJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember George Latimer
Phone: 518/455-4897
Email: LatimeG@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Donna Lupardo
Phone: 518/455-5431
Email: LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Alan Maisel
Phone: 518/455-5211
Email: MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember David McDonough
Phone: 518/455-4633
Email: McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Joan Millman
Phone: 518/455-5426
Email: MillmaJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Dean Murray
Phone: 518/455-4901
Email: MurrayD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Nick Perry
Phone: 518/455-4166
Email: PerryN@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Bill Reilich
Phone: 518/455-4664
Email: ReilicW@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Michelle Schimel
Phone: 518/455-5192
Email: SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Fred Thiele
Phone: 518/455-5997
Email: ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Matthew Titone
Phone: 518/455-4677
Email: TitoneM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Lou Tobacco
Phone: 518/455-4495
Email: TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember Harvey Weisenberg
Phone: 518/455-3028
Email: WeisenH@assembly.state.ny.us
SEMA Action Network is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5th Gen Suspension -- The Book JusticePete Suspension / Brakes / Chassis 148 09-04-2013 02:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.