Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions

Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions External and Internal cosmetics modifications.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2011, 11:21 AM   #1
-Trigger-
USER
 
Drives: 1SS, 1968 Camaro V8 396
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Farmington, NM
Posts: 163
A-Pillar Mod "power"

I have been looking around and I want to run a power cable from a power source to the A-Pillar so I can power a phone or GPS anybody ever done this?
__________________
This Car Hauls A$$ I know I weight (295 now) 315 and it still gets it on
-Trigger- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 09:20 AM   #2
Kendell347
Doc
 
Kendell347's Avatar
 
Drives: BLACKOUT (2SS/RS)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,366
Its definitely do-able, just have to watch out for the airbags
__________________
1100-7/20/2009 * 6000-2/4/10 Proud Owner of Autographed Litho # 128Mods: CAI CAI, Emblempros Dash Plaque, R/C Lic. Plate, Fbodfathers signature, AAC SMD SML, AAC P13 LED DRL, TF center console, Full dash ABL, Noweed Exhaust Diverters, Heritage Grille, Door Projectors, 20watt LED reverse lights with strobe features, S.S. black billet grille with air scoops, custom designed engine cover, custom designed "BLACKOUT" cross drilled / slotted rotors, Borla S-type exhaust, Elite Engineering oil catch can, Nitto Invo Tires WWW. NY5THGEN.COM
Kendell347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:48 AM   #3
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 980
Many have run power through the a-pillar. Do you want a jack in it or something?
__________________
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:52 PM   #4
-Trigger-
USER
 
Drives: 1SS, 1968 Camaro V8 396
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Farmington, NM
Posts: 163
Yea I have my phone mounted on the left side windshield for streaming radio and GPS so I would like to be able to plug it in to keep power for it.
__________________
This Car Hauls A$$ I know I weight (295 now) 315 and it still gets it on
-Trigger- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
Don O
Camaro and Vettehead
 
Don O's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS IOM L99 69 427/400 Vette
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 12 miles East of Disneyland - Anaheim Hills
Posts: 547
It's very easy to do. I ran power from the fuse box up the pillar for my radar detector and backup camera display.

Don O
Attached Images
 
__________________
Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong.

Don O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 03:12 PM   #6
Silver2SSRS6spd
Prefer to be blown!
 
Silver2SSRS6spd's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver/Black 2SS/RS 6 Speed
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,672
Is that the side airbag?
__________________
MagnaCharger TVS-2300 513rwhp 490 rwt and a radical suspension under the car.
Silver2SSRS6spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 03:14 PM   #7
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 980
Yes, that's the forward portion of it.
__________________
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 03:31 PM   #8
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,073
I did it too.......I made the pig tail just hang out JUST ENOUGH for my GPS. I never had to take off the cover.....it was easy to run it down to the fuse box.
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 11:27 PM   #9
-Trigger-
USER
 
Drives: 1SS, 1968 Camaro V8 396
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Farmington, NM
Posts: 163
when I run it to the Fuse Box where do I plug into (Splice)
__________________
This Car Hauls A$$ I know I weight (295 now) 315 and it still gets it on
-Trigger- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 07:49 AM   #10
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Trigger- View Post
when I run it to the Fuse Box where do I plug into (Splice)
There are two fuses you could use, they are the power that goes to the console....F-17 or F-18 Look at your owners manual on page 9-45 (2010's) or 10-47 (2011's), thats where you will find a picture of the fuse block inside the car.

Name:  fuse block.jpg
Views: 1503
Size:  32.3 KB
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:50 PM   #11
bigwayne3000

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,447
Im beyond dumb w/ electrical stuff, so how would I tap into the fuse once I decide which one to use? How do I take the radar wire? Do I just cut off the lighter adapter portion off?
bigwayne3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 08:56 PM   #12
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,073
what you need is to get a "piggy back" fuse holder, they sell them at Auto Zone

Name:  PIGGYBACK FUSE HOLDER.jpg
Views: 2076
Size:  185.3 KB


here is one installked

Name:  piggyback-fuse 1.jpg
Views: 2637
Size:  90.5 KB
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 09:05 PM   #13
bigwayne3000

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,447
Then I can just splice the two ends together and presto itll be hardwired?
bigwayne3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:00 PM   #14
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,073
you will have two wires coming out of your detector....+ (positive) and a - (ground). What you see is where the + (positive) side connects to the fuse block.....then just connect the - (ground) to the screw that is right above the fuse box using a ring lug.
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:58 PM   #15
bigwayne3000

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,447
One last question I just thought of. Does this piggy back fuse holder have something in case the fuse blows? Does it have something to prevent the break from causing a fire or whatever or do I need to put somehting on? I cant think of the name of the piece I'm thinking of....

Also does it matter which fuse I tap into or will any of them work?
bigwayne3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:00 PM   #16
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 16,073
wayne.......you see the pic above of the holder......first you pull the fuse you intend to insert the "piggy back" into......install in place iof the fuse. Looking at the pic above, you install the fuse you just pulled out of the fuse block in the lower spot, then you install a fuse on the top for you radar detector or whatever.....and that is power wire coming out of the piggy back and to your detector or whaever.


You ask the question...."does the piggy back fuse holder have something in case the fuse blows?" the answer is YES.....THE FUSE! that is what protects the circuits its conected to.

as far as which fues to connect to.......go to post #10
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 12:36 PM   #17
bigwayne3000

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,447
wow, im an idiot. Looking at the pic, it didnt dawn on me what those openings were for on the piggy back but now that you explained it, it makes perfect sense. Thank you for putting up w/ my dumb questions. I really appreciate it!
bigwayne3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
**Camaro5 Exclusive First Look** AutoMeter air bag compatible pillar pods!! Team STILLEN Interior Parts & Accessories 83 08-10-2012 05:22 AM
Camaro5 Exclusive First Look AutoMeter air bag compatible pillar pods! Taking orders! Team STILLEN Audio / Visual / Electronics/ Gauges / Nav 7 01-17-2011 11:21 AM
What is your favorite mod on your Camaro? Darth_Emma 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 116 07-05-2010 03:02 PM
SW Ohio mod day #2 heinzd01 USA - Great Lakes 474 05-28-2010 11:41 AM
**Camaro5 Exclusive First Look** AutoMeter air bag compatible pillar pods!! Team STILLEN Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 4 05-27-2010 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.