Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions

Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions External and Internal cosmetics modifications.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2011, 04:14 PM   #1
Asian Zero
 
Asian Zero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro 1LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Posts: 419
knight rider help

Alright well i got my dual 15" RGB scanners but when i went to install them the wires came loose. the ones that attach to the LED bars themselves. When testing my lights i also noticed the red didnt work on one of the bars( im assuming its another loose connection. Normally i would send them back but i dont want to wait so im taking it upon myself to re-solder the wires back to the bar. My problem is i dont know which wires get soldered where. I know you AAC guys are floating around out there can you help me out and give me a diagram of what gets soldered where. there are 3 soldered points on top and 4 on the bottom but there are way more wires than that.
Asian Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:11 PM   #2
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 942
Be sure to use a lot of RTV after you make the repair to ensure it's all weatherproofed. It sucks you have to make your own repairs on something you just bought but, I definitely understand not wanting to wait for a replacement.

As for what pad to solder to... did the wires come off of BOTH scanners? I can see one by accident but, both? Regardless of how it happened, the wiring follows a pattern, which is probably hard for you to see unless you take a significant section of the protective covering off. To fix the wires you're going to have to take some of the covering off anyhow. Perhaps you can find an electronics supply company in your town that can supply you with clear heatshrink tubing. That is what is used on those and they simply shoot a bunch of RTV down the remaining portion and fold over. Without having one right in front of me that's about the best I can do with helping you. Good luck
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:37 PM   #3
Asian Zero
 
Asian Zero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro 1LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Posts: 419
no it came off on just the one scanner i think another wire is loose in the other one i have though. yeah i would just check the other bar for the solder but i cant really see where the wiring goes without removing the heat shrink and i dont want to **** up both of them (in the end thats what i may end up trying though). thanks for the input
Asian Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:22 AM   #4
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 942
since it's just the end you can easily repair both and seal them with RTV. If the other one is loose then I suggest repairing that so, if you do you'll have to take the protective cover off somewhat anyhow. Sealing it up with RTV will do the trick nicely. Just give it plenty of time to cure before install.
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:50 PM   #5
Asian Zero
 
Asian Zero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro 1LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Posts: 419
bump......common i know you aac guys are out there....
Asian Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:15 PM   #6
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,700
Honestly, I don't see why you're going thru all this trouble. I buy from AAC because everything they sell has a lifetime warranty. Why would I fiddle with it ad maybe break it more when they will replace it for free.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 11:32 PM   #7
Asian Zero
 
Asian Zero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro 1LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Posts: 419
well i thought it would be a nice quick fix...solder a couple wires to a circuit board and you are good to go....apparently not. i also didnt feel like having to deal with shipping and what not.
Asian Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Knight Rider Light Install skysharker1 Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 3 12-10-2010 08:28 PM
Camaro knight rider??? ArcAngel 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 16 01-18-2009 07:00 PM
2010 Mustang on Knight Rider last night 11/19/08 Angrybird 12 General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 34 12-06-2008 05:36 PM
knight rider lilszoke Off-topic Discussions 13 11-03-2008 08:22 PM
Knight Rider CHVY4LF Off-topic Discussions 22 09-28-2008 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.