Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2011, 03:57 PM   #1
Oft
 
Drives: Black 2011 2/SS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 27
Warranty tune loop hole??

Question to anyone that know about tuning... After doing some research on this forum and talking with my dealer they check the car for previous tunes and void your power train if one is found.... So my question is is it possible to disable onstar and take the 14,000 mile of my cars data and duplicate it basically re write the code the car is spitting out multiplied by X so if I were to tune my car with 14,000 miles on it and something breaks at 17,000 I take the code my car has been spitting out and add 3,000 miles worth of coding/data and re-flash my car and they would never know there has been a tune due to the data matching the cars miles is that possible???
Oft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 06:08 PM   #2
siriusdish

 
Drives: Nothing "On the site for my Dad"
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 1,207
What I read is they can read how many times the computer has been flashed.
siriusdish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:02 PM   #3
camarowa

 
camarowa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SVT Raptor, sold 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PNW....almost canada
Posts: 1,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by siriusdish View Post
What I read is they can read how many times the computer has been flashed.
This my understanding as well.
__________________
- Pfadt Suspension Package; Springs & Sways
- Brembo Brake Upgrade (Yellow); Courtesy Fesler Built
- Custom Magnaflow Exhaust
- Blacked-Out Bowties & RS Emblems, Front bowtie delete
- Full Dynamat Extreme Trunk Coverage
- Tinted side markers
- Interior DSV Customs Leather Upgrades
- Airaid CAI V2
- Forgestar F14 Gunmetal 20x9, 20x11
- Doug Thorley Shorties
camarowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:06 PM   #4
Oft
 
Drives: Black 2011 2/SS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 27
Its a computer though that is stored somewhere. If It can be hacked into and the code be rewritten surely that code can be changed as well??
Oft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:27 PM   #5
c-dub
It's that guy
 
c-dub's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hopewell VA
Posts: 674
wouldn't battery unpluggings reset the comp also? I can't imagine that the onboard computers have an independent power source to maintain all memory during complete power loss....
__________________
We mortals are but shadows and dust.
c-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:25 PM   #6
iFast
 
iFast's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro SS/RS and '01 Bullitt
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Back in the US!!
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by c-dub View Post
wouldn't battery unpluggings reset the comp also? I can't imagine that the onboard computers have an independent power source to maintain all memory during complete power loss....
Turn your computer off. Unplug it from it's power supply (if a desktop) or take your battery out (if a laptop) leave it there for a day. Plug it back up and I guarantee your data and programs will still be there. I would think it's the same concept here. Not being a smart@ss, just using a practical example. Although, I wish you were right!
__________________
2010 Camaro 1SS. Halltech Intake. SLP Loudmouth I Exhaust. BMR 1.4''/1.0'' Lowering Springs. ZL-1 Front Fascia. NLP Rear Spoiler. 20'' TSW Nurburgring w/ Nitto Invos.

2001 DHG Bullitt Mustang GT. 5.0 Shortblock. Patriot cams and heads. Flowmaster Axle-Back, Magnaflow X-Pipe. Eibach sportline lowering springs. Steeda Tri-ax. 03-04 Cobra Front Fascia. 18'' XXR 521s w/ Sumitomo HTR Z IIs.

2007 Kawasaki ZX-10R. Akrapovic CF Slip-ons. K&N filter. 520 conversion w/ -1/+2 sprockets. Speedo-healer. Lockhart-Phillips fi controller. Pirelli DCIIIs.
iFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:57 AM   #7
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,604
Your idea won't work. There isn't a program nor tuner that I'm aware of that is capable of reading (much less re-write) the entire ECM code. Not to mention some parts (such as the flash counter and odometer) are stored in other multiple places to prevent tampering and most of those places we don't have access to.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 09:02 AM   #8
IROCanSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 89 IROC 350
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Back roads, southern Ohio
Posts: 12,504
Just tune it and don't worry about, or don't. BUT there is NO WAY AROUND IT.
IROCanSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:00 PM   #9
Mindz
E.B.A.H.
 
Mindz's Avatar
 
Drives: you wild...
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In the happy padded room wearing a jacket that makes me hug myself...
Posts: 18,262
Seems like an awful lot of work and money just to keep your warranty IF something goes wrong. If you're that worried about it, I would suggest staying with the stock tune until the warranty is up.
__________________
Blue Rush, 2010 SS [Car of the Week 3/22/2010] Traded in on...ZLZBUBB, 2013 ZL1
Mindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 09:02 PM   #10
Oft
 
Drives: Black 2011 2/SS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 27
It was a thought.. We have 17 year old kids hacking in to all kinds of shit these days!! So I figured maybe someone has heard something about this.... True It might cost money but even if I paid someone $3,000 its half the price of an LS3 motor.. Not to metion the oilfield is VERY slow right now and ive been sitting at home bored and with nothing better to do but wait on drilling permits!! But thanks for all the comments .. And if anyone wants 3 grand and can figure this out lemme kno!! lmao
Oft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 09:33 PM   #11
JR-Vette
 
JR-Vette's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 500 HP Corvette
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Coast
Posts: 164
GM is too smart for that and why they copy and store the mileage into other controllers in the car into non erasable storage and the mileage better compare the same in all of them

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oft View Post
Question to anyone that know about tuning... After doing some research on this forum and talking with my dealer they check the car for previous tunes and void your power train if one is found.... So my question is is it possible to disable onstar and take the 14,000 mile of my cars data and duplicate it basically re write the code the car is spitting out multiplied by X so if I were to tune my car with 14,000 miles on it and something breaks at 17,000 I take the code my car has been spitting out and add 3,000 miles worth of coding/data and re-flash my car and they would never know there has been a tune due to the data matching the cars miles is that possible???
JR-Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 04:46 AM   #12
skittleoncrack
 
skittleoncrack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS (LS3, 150-Shot N2O)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Searcy Arkansas
Posts: 169
late comment here.. but most dealerships don't give a flip about tuners. I have yet to find a dealership that really cared. I've taken my car in on warranty work.. told them it was Diablo Tuned and the tuner was still plugged up and sitting on the dash.

didn't seem to void my warranty
skittleoncrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 06:24 AM   #13
CamaroSpike23
Truth Enforcer
 
CamaroSpike23's Avatar
 
Drives: anything I can get my hands on
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 22,824
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroSpike23
Quote:
Originally Posted by skittleoncrack View Post
late comment here.. but most dealerships don't give a flip about tuners. I have yet to find a dealership that really cared. I've taken my car in on warranty work.. told them it was Diablo Tuned and the tuner was still plugged up and sitting on the dash.

didn't seem to void my warranty
this.


most dealers dont automatically void the warranty because of a tune. and legally speaking, they have to prove the tune caused the damage. however, any major engine/drivetrain problem you might infer will most likely not be covered if you have a tune.

there are tuners out there that have tunes that modify the flash counter so it will appear stock, but the flash counter is not the only way that GM can read if the ECM has been tuned.
__________________
Never race anything you can't afford to light on fire and push off a cliff
A group as a whole tends to be smarter than the smartest person in that group until one jackass convinces everyone otherwise.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelmanSS View Post
Post count is truly an accurate measure of how cool someone is on the Internet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Norris View Post
I piss excellence
and fart awesomeness
"You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to quit thinking.”
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
But not all people were born awesome like you, Spike.
CamaroSpike23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 08:40 AM   #14
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '69 Drag, #37 TA Stock Car, '15 ILE
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,756
No dealer should be automatically voiding the warranty just because an aftermarket tune is present. The bulletin instructs to only check the calibration if there is an internal hard part failure in the engine or trans, or a cat convertor failure. So if that hasn't occured, ie if you're just there for an oil leak or water pump or steering problem... they shouldn't be touching the calibration in any way or even checking it.

If they try to, say - let's read the bulletin together. Also, there is nothing in the warranty booklet provided with your car that says changing the calibration automatically voids the warranty. And that warranty book is the written warranty on the car, can't change the rules after someone buys a product.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 3210 07-06-2016 11:11 PM
DO NOT give specific order/vin info on the site if getting a tune! TAG UR IT Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 60 07-14-2011 01:47 PM
Cold Air Intake With Tune Warranty BAWLZ SS Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 19 10-14-2010 09:56 PM
Watched a 2011 5.0 GT at the track. JJ#48Racing Chevy Camaro vs... 143 07-21-2010 06:56 PM
LS3 goes 11`s Bonestock! GMRULZ Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 28 12-08-2008 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.