Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ModBargains
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion

General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion Come chat about other cars.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2011, 11:37 AM   #1
SEMA Action Network
 
SEMA Action Network's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 118
Thumbs up Pro-Hobbyist Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Introduced in Washington State

http://www.semasan.com/main/main.aspx?id=62876

SEMA model legislation to create a vehicle titling and registration classification for street rods and custom vehicles has been introduced in the Washington State Legislature by Senator Mike Carrell (Carrell.michael@leg.wa.gov). The bill (S.B. 5585) defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 25 years old and manufactured after 1948. Under the bill, kit cars and replica vehicles will be assigned a certificate of title bearing the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Washington State Senate Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 5585

• S.B. 5585 provides specific registration and titling classes for street rods and customs, including kits and replicas.

• S.B. 5585 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.

• S.B. 5585 exempts street rods and customs from a range of standard equipment requirements (only that equipment required in the model year that the vehicle resembles) and emissions inspections.

• S.B. 5585 provides that vehicles titled and registered as street rods and custom vehicles may only be used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.

• S.B. 5585 permits the use of blue dot taillights.

DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the Senate Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for S.B. 5585.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Washington State Senate Transportation Committee

Senator Mary Margaret Haugen - Chair
Phone: 360/786-7618
Email: haugen.marymargaret@leg.wa.gov

Senator Scott White - Vice Chair
Phone: 360/786-7690
Email: white.scott@leg.wa.gov

Senator Curtis King
Phone: 360/786-7626
Email: king.curtis@leg.wa.gov

Senator Joe Fain
Phone: 360/786-7692
Email: fain.joe@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jerome Delvin
Phone: 360/786-7614
Email: delvin.jerome@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tracey Eide
Phone: 360/786-7658
Email: Eide.tracey@leg.wa.gov

Senator Doug Ericksen
Phone: 360/786-7682
Email: ericksen.doug@leg.wa.gov

Senator Andy Hill
Phone: 360/786-7672
Email: hill.andy@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Hobbs
Phone: 360/786-7686
Email: hobbs.steve@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Litzow
Phone: 360/786-7641
Email: litzow.steve@leg.wa.gov

Senator Sharon Nelson
Phone: 360/786-7667
Email: nelson.sharon@leg.wa.gov

Senator Margarita Prentice
Phone: 360/786-7616
Email: prentice.margarita@leg.wa.gov

Senator Kevin Ranker
Phone: 360/786-7678
Email: ranker.kevin@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tim Sheldon
Phone: 360/786-7668
Email: sheldon.tim@leg.wa.gov

Senator Paull Shin
Phone: 360/786-7640
Email: shin.paull@leg.wa.gov

Senator Dan Swecker
Phone: 360/786-7638
Email: swecker.dan@leg.wa.gov
SEMA Action Network is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:04 PM   #2
SEMA Action Network
 
SEMA Action Network's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 118
The bill is heading to the Senate floor! Please stand-up and contact the Washington Senate in support of this important piece of legislation!

http://www.semasan.com/main/main.aspx?id=62892
SEMA Action Network is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:36 PM   #3
SEMA Action Network
 
SEMA Action Network's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 118
SB5585 has passed the Senate and is heading to the House! Please contact the House Transportation Committee today! Contact information can be found at the link below.

http://www.semasan.com/main/main.aspx?id=62926
SEMA Action Network is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5th Gen Suspension -- The Book JusticePete Suspension / Brakes / Chassis 148 09-04-2013 02:28 PM
Pro-Hobbyist Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Reintroduced in New York SEMA Action Network General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 0 01-18-2011 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.