Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion

General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion Come chat about other cars.

Old 02-05-2011, 08:02 PM   #1
WhiteCrane

Drives: 2010 Mustang GT
Send a message via AIM to WhiteCrane Send a message via Skype™ to WhiteCrane
General performance mods.

I'm a newbie to engine mods. All I know about cars is what I can read in car and driver and learn from watching top gear. I have a general understanding of how things work though.

I am just curious now though as to what advantage some of the lower cost mods have on an engine. The reason I;m asking you guys is because no company that builds the arts will commit to how much HP you get from adding them.

Say you put new headers, + full exhaust on a good V8, without a tune. Don't wanna void the warranty. That do anything for ya? Or are we talkin' 10 horsepower? I already have a CAI.

Let's say you added a manifold on there. Any difference?
WhiteCrane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 08:09 PM   #2
Zabo
Bowtie to the brim

Drives: '10 R6P 2SS/RS M6, '96 S10 ZR2 M5
From my understanding putting headers and/or a full exhaust are mostly an audio enhancement to the engine; allows a more visceral note to make it through the entire exhaust. Changing a throttlebody, manifold, intake 'elbow' can gain airflow in the engine on various levels depending on the geometry and size of the opening you allow the engine to draw air through.

Similar concept in a CAI, where the colder air actually creates a more 'preferable' charge of air when the engine goes suck, squeeze, bang, blow.