Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2011, 01:53 PM   #1
steven32708
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IOM LS3 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando
Posts: 28
High flow cats vs no cats

Is anyone running no cats ("off road pipes") without a tune. Im trying to decide between high flow cats and off road pipes by adm. The off road pipes are cheaper and louder, so those would be optimal but i cant get a tune so i need to know if they throw codes or anything like that. I searched, but couldnt find a lot of information relevant to this. Thanks.
steven32708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 01:59 PM   #2
DHSS
 
DHSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Empty
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, Tx
Posts: 457
From what I hear, you are going to throw a code either way b/c of the excess of flow from the new headers. Im in the same debate, always have done off road pipes on my GT's in the past and had to trick the computer with wires in the o2 sensors, but not sure about these 5th Gens, b/c I never ran offroad pipes on either of my C6's.
DHSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 02:10 PM   #3
Fishdadddy

 
Fishdadddy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS ; 1970 Firebird Formula
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,268
You will get a code with the offroad pipes. I have the Solo High Flow Cats and have no code issues yet. 600+ miles amd I'm not the only one . Do a search on high flow cats
Fishdadddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:07 PM   #4
first one

 
first one's Avatar
 
Drives: SSRS - black, GFX, SSX wheels
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IN
Posts: 935
No code with solo HF cats.
__________________
first one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:25 PM   #5
caverman


 
caverman's Avatar
 
Drives: '69 SS Convertible
Join Date: May 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 7,063
You'll probably get a code with the off-road pipes since you are basically removing the cats. You'll get a CEL basically saying the cats are working properly.

From my understanding the sensor in front of the cat take a measurement and the sensor from behind the cat takes another mesurement. If the second measurment is not cleaner within a certain range then it will throw a code.

Since you would be removing the cats then the air will be the exact same between the first and second sensor.....thus a CEL is thrown.

That's the way it was explained to me....and it makes sense.

By going with a HF cat setup from JBA or SOLO then the air on the second sensor should be cleaner than the first one within the allowed range. If installed properly they shouldn't throw a code.
__________________
-2010 Camaro 2SS | M6 | VR w/White Stripes | 1 3/4" KOOKS - 3" Magnaflow | LPE 3.91 gears | ADM tuned | Halltech w/ADM Scoop | Spohn/BMR Trailing Arm/Toe Rod | BC Coilovers| Pedders FE4 ZL1 swaybars | Cradle/Diff/Radius Rod bushings | VMax TB | Morimoto Projectors | MGW shifter | Red Calipers
Build Journal
caverman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 05:29 PM   #6
TaylorRyanSS
COTW: 12/13/10
 
TaylorRyanSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro, 2012 370Z
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 7,916
No CELs with my JBA high flow cats and its been around 800 miles *knock on wood*
__________________

"Are you one of those boys who prefer cars to women? - I'm one of those boys that appreciates a fine body, regardless of the make."
1969 CAMARO JOURNAL: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=341239 | FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/taylor.ryan.apt | GRAPHIC DESIGN: www.aptdesigns.net
TaylorRyanSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 06:27 PM   #7
unclead3008
 
Drives: White 1SS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 34
No CEL's yet, I have Kooks Longtubes and Kooks High Flow Cats. I don't have many miles on them...probably 125 miles. Car is put away for the winter.

If a CEL comes up, I will take my car to get it tuned.
unclead3008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 06:36 PM   #8
Bad70supreme


 
Bad70supreme's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 aqua blue SS/RS M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: plainfield, IL
Posts: 2,584
With long tubes you are going to get a cel no matter what, just a matter of time! You might as well go no cats, when it comes time for smog test put the manifolds and cats back on for the test and the cel will go away. If you get it tuned then you dont need to worry about that, but if you dont tune then you will have to do the swap every few years. No big deal if you ask me, just a little work!
__________________
217/228 .565 cam, th400 swap with 3600 stall, headers.
11.7s @117
Vararam intake, GPI tune, new PB soon
Bring on the Bolton 5.0s please!
Bad70supreme is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help regarding high flow cats and headers Rabamaro Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 6 01-30-2011 09:20 PM
kooks high flow cats Alain Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 15 01-10-2011 09:12 AM
High flow cats or just removal CamaroCrazy7 USA - Texas 6 12-13-2010 07:21 AM
Headers, High Flow Cats, Tune a pain in Virginia? MikeinVA Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 4 06-28-2010 04:42 PM
water around high flow cats mousemotor Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 2 11-15-2009 09:22 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.