Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
autoguy
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions

Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions External and Internal cosmetics modifications.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2011, 10:55 PM   #1
Kscott46
 
Kscott46's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black SS2, RS, MT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 68
Help with AAC Scanner light!

So I installed my scanner light from AAC today. Was pretty easy, I used a dremel to cut out the corners. I was able to mold the light a little by heating the center of the light, fits like a dream! The only problem is, IT TURNS ON BY ITS SELF!!! I was driving home and everyone suddenly moves out of my way, well the lights were on! I say "Oh sh$#"! Does anyone have the same problem? Could it be were I grounded it? I used one of the existing holes used for the metal plate on the facia, I had to scrape some paint off to make contact. When it turns on by its self, it wont respond to the remote. Help Guys! Thanks in advance!
__________________
Black and Silver Striped SS2/RS M6
Current Mods: PFADT Springs ,Hurst Short Shifter, Roto Fab Intake, SLP LM II Axel Back Ex, NLP Dove Tail Spoiler, AAC Interior LED's (Blue), Defender Works Black Bow Ties.

Future Mods: PFADT Sways, SLP cat back, SLP X-pipe, SLP Headers, and Tune.
Kscott46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:00 PM   #2
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 943
Do you have a multi-meter? You should check continuity between the point you're assuming is a ground and something you know for sure is ground. If you're ground is floating that could be why that's acting weird. Or you may have a controller that's malfunctioning. If you don't have a multi-meter you should pick one up at Radio Shack. They have cheapies that will at least be able to test voltage and continuity. Start with that.
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:03 PM   #3
Kscott46
 
Kscott46's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black SS2, RS, MT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 68
When using the meter how can I tell if the ground is floating? If the voltage is low or high? Do I want it high on the ground wire? Thanks for the help!
__________________
Black and Silver Striped SS2/RS M6
Current Mods: PFADT Springs ,Hurst Short Shifter, Roto Fab Intake, SLP LM II Axel Back Ex, NLP Dove Tail Spoiler, AAC Interior LED's (Blue), Defender Works Black Bow Ties.

Future Mods: PFADT Sways, SLP cat back, SLP X-pipe, SLP Headers, and Tune.
Kscott46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 07:21 AM   #4
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 943
You want to do a continuity check between the ground point you used and a known ground point. Usually there's a setting on a multi-meter for continuity testing. If there isn't and you can only check resistance and voltage then try the resistance setting. Between a known ground and the ground you used there should be a dead short or approximately 0.00 ohms. You'll probably get something like 0.02 or around that. If your meter just measures voltage then if you measure across your 12V source and the point you picked as ground then you should see approximately 12V. If it's drastically lower or if it changes frequently ramping up and down then you have a problem. It should be a steady voltage.
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 09:49 AM   #5
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,675
This was happening to to me as well. Turned out the water proof seal/casing around the scanner got torn. Water had gotten inside of it and thats what was shorting out the circuit.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DO NOT BUY FROM AAC - Advanced Automotive Concepts Moonsault Vendor and Seller review / feedback / experiences 53 12-10-2010 09:05 PM
AAC RGB Knight Rider Light FS Tx1Lt Exterior Parts & Accessories 4 09-29-2010 07:05 AM
AAC LED Conversion Kit, AAC CCFL Footwell Ambient Lighting & AAC "RGB" LED Scanner FINALLYSATISFIED Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 19 09-06-2010 01:55 PM
AAC (RGB) scanner on 2010 Black SS Camaro at Night DJ D-REK Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 4 08-02-2010 05:21 PM
AAC red dome light update with pics. jebckr Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 14 01-31-2010 10:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.