Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cold Air Inductions
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing Discussions on mechanical maintenance and servicing of your Camaro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2011, 07:25 PM   #1
jagan323
I have no life
 
jagan323's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' Subaru STI, ex-Camaro V6 LLT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Top Gear Test Track
Posts: 3,190
Tranny Oil Change, not worth DIY

So I just took a look at the service manual. And changing the tranny filter and fluid is harder than it looks for the Automatic tranny.

Well, I suppose it's not that hard, but it's a lot more work than I could have thought.

Anyone ever do it themselves here? Manual Tranny is so much easier lol.
__________________
jagan323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:15 PM   #2
joe h
 
Drives: victory red 2010 camaro 2ss/rs
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: bismarck, nd
Posts: 125
I've changed my silverado's once and never again. $100 I give the local tire shop is well worth it
joe h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:12 PM   #3
jagan323
I have no life
 
jagan323's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' Subaru STI, ex-Camaro V6 LLT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Top Gear Test Track
Posts: 3,190
Yeah... i would imagine. Looks like a PITA for sure. Thanks for your input. I'll give this job to the dealers =P
__________________
jagan323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 09:18 AM   #4
chris0834
CAPTIAN CAMARO
 
chris0834's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: miami
Posts: 120
I've been trying to find if someone has done it here for the m6 but can't find any diy form. Anybody have a link for this?
__________________
CAPTAIN CAMARO
chris0834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 09:37 AM   #5
IROCanSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 89 IROC 350
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Back roads, southern Ohio
Posts: 12,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris0834 View Post
I've been trying to find if someone has done it here for the m6 but can't find any diy form. Anybody have a link for this?
I have, its simple. I suppose you want to know how. PM me and I will PM you back. Its really easy.
IROCanSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:46 AM   #6
BackinBlack
KASPR
 
BackinBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 2SS RS LS3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bloomfield MI
Posts: 285
General Motors uses Texaco ATF Type III 1863 fluid and is certified "fill-for-life," requiring no fluid changes.

Source: "2009 Tremec TR6060 (MH3/MG9) car transmission" General Motors Document
BackinBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:45 PM   #7
jagan323
I have no life
 
jagan323's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' Subaru STI, ex-Camaro V6 LLT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Top Gear Test Track
Posts: 3,190
Well, I think i should still do the change once.. because breaking in the car, I'm sure there are lots of metal shavings and other dirty stuff in my oil!
__________________
jagan323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 09:41 PM   #8
Slowhawk
LSX specialty shop

 
Drives: 1999 Trans Am
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgewater,Ma
Posts: 1,633
The sad part is - do you trust anyone to do it? I've read many posts of people just taking out the plug and draining 2-3 quarts,fill it, then they thought they changed the fluid.

You have to drain it from the plug,drop the pan,change the filter and fill it while it's running. Can take 6-8 quarts to do the job. Not very hard but takes alittle time.
__________________


Bridgewater, Ma
(508)659-4454
Slowhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 10:11 PM   #9
jagan323
I have no life
 
jagan323's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' Subaru STI, ex-Camaro V6 LLT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Top Gear Test Track
Posts: 3,190
I borrowed the service manual from a friend, and yeah, I see that you need to do all of that, but it did not mention that the car had to be running. It seems that you only have to have it running when you check the fluid levels. Not for the oil change though.
__________________
jagan323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 04:44 PM   #10
GearHeadPeter
US Navy Vet
 
GearHeadPeter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT/RS, 65 Mustang GT Fastback
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,483
I took mine to GM for the first service after breakin and GM drained the A6, dropped the pan, replaced the filter and refilled w/o starting the car. They did start it and check after everything was done. Total for A6 service $149
__________________
2011 - 2LT/RS - RY, A6, Gray Interior - Team LLT:
3rd Camaro on this forum to have a Mylink installed. Installation by GEN5DIY, Lloyds Premium Ebony Camaro RS floor mats, Empire Billet Camaro Black sill plates, AAC: LED footwell & interior lighting, Rear Courtesy Lights, LED side markers/turn signals, Plasma P13W DRl bulbs, Formula 1 Pinnacle Series tint, Roto-Fab Yellow CAI & Fuse cover, Technostalgia Afterburner LED taillights, EmblemPros custom V6 hydrocoated carbon fiber/RY engine cover, Pfadt Sport sway bars, Ofer's Backup Camera, and full Brembo brake conversion.
GearHeadPeter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Changes Dave McFly Off-topic Discussions 6 05-18-2010 04:50 PM
Can we use the catchcan made for the G8? HaZe_X Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 16 05-05-2010 10:35 AM
Major U.S. oil source is tapped KILLER74Z28 Off-topic Discussions 32 10-30-2007 09:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.