Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
GM Parts House
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2011, 08:49 PM   #1
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,152
CEL P0101 P2179

well everyone should know about this code. it deals with the MAF and being too lean! but how? all i have is intake and axleback mrt1.0. so what should i do? ive done the battery reset. but it has come back already once. so doing it again i dont know if it will solve it. pleaseee heeeelp ::(



Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using Tapatalk
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:51 PM   #2
OOLIE

 
OOLIE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 1,644
could it be the oil from filter getting on sensor? I thought I read somewhere about some issues possibly. IDK I have dry filter. I hope you get it solved soon
__________________
OOLIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 09:04 PM   #3
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,152
i have an KN intake...the black one aircharger.



Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using Tapatalk
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 09:05 PM   #4
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,152
how can i clean the maf?



Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using Tapatalk
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
OOLIE

 
OOLIE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 1,644
I am not sure, I would wait until someone with more experience verifies and can explain it better. I am just passing along something I read, so it is hearsay.
__________________
OOLIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 11:04 PM   #6
usa1camaro1969
Back on the dino-juice
 
usa1camaro1969's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 LS + a few more
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,641
They sell a maf cleaning spray at most of the parts stores(autozone, oreilly's, checker). How long did you have it on before it tripped a code the first time? How long since it tripped? I am going to assume you checked all clamps to make sure they were tight after you did the reset.
Have you considered contacting K&N? I know there was another on here with the black plastic tube that was having an issue, they had him provide proof of destruction(I believe pics) and refunded his money.
I haven't had any issues with my polished tubed version. I hope you get it worked out.
__________________
I wake up in the morning and I piss excellence.
-Ricky Bobby
America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed. -Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936
usa1camaro1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 02:50 AM   #7
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,152
i should call them? or should i have try cleaning the MAF sensor,
i have my intake since like 6k forsure. im at 21k and i have cleaned the cone.
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 02:56 AM   #8
jagan323
I have no life
 
jagan323's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' Subaru STI, ex-Camaro V6 LLT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Top Gear Test Track
Posts: 3,190
isn't this like a common thing for the K&N intakes? It's either Airaid or K&N, read somewhere it threw some codes...
__________________
jagan323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 03:00 AM   #9
willyd
 
Drives: Victory Red 2011 Chevy Camaro 2LTRS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 204
Don't buy the aftermarket MAF sensor cleaner....that's straight from my guy at the service department at my dealership. The sensor's cost about 300 bucks to replace, if you find out it was caused by the intake I would contact K&N and have them pay for the cost of the sensor...I don't like to hear that Airaid's throw codes, I just put mine in..ugh
willyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 08:49 AM   #10
usa1camaro1969
Back on the dino-juice
 
usa1camaro1969's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 LS + a few more
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by willyd View Post
Don't buy the aftermarket MAF sensor cleaner....that's straight from my guy at the service department at my dealership. The sensor's cost about 300 bucks to replace, if you find out it was caused by the intake I would contact K&N and have them pay for the cost of the sensor
Nobody said the maf sensor is bad or that the K&N caused it. I've used the cleaner in the past and it's not difficult if you use the cleaner, not the pressure to clean the part(I've seen guys put the nozzle right up to the part and spray the hell out of it).
How long has it been since you cleaned and re-oiled the filter? This issue may be due to the way it was cleaned re-oiled but I'm going to give the list of what I'd do:
1. I'd start with the simple thing first. I'd re-check all connections/clamps. Sometimes it's the little things.
2. I'd reset once again.
3. I'd check/clean the maf sensor. It's an oiled filter and if re-charged properly it will work forever but I've seen guys have it dripping with oil and try slapping it back on only to have it run like crap. You may have to clean/re-oil the filter again.
4. I'd contact K&N and let them know the issue and what you've done so far to resolve it. I'd make sure you let them know this is the second time and what you did after the first time it happened.

I wish you luck and know they can get frustrating at times.
__________________
I wake up in the morning and I piss excellence.
-Ricky Bobby
America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed. -Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936
usa1camaro1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:01 AM   #11
chozn4service
Five-O
 
chozn4service's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 SS w/2SS A8 Blue Velvet
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: +34° 55' 19.15", -117° 53' 22.43"
Posts: 2,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagan323 View Post
isn't this like a common thing for the K&N intakes? It's either Airaid or K&N, read somewhere it threw some codes...
NOT AIRAID!!!!!!! I was one of the first ones to have the Airaid CAI and I've had no issue with it throwing a code. Must be the other guys and I'm calling names.
__________________
Never grow up, it's a trap!
chozn4service is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:13 AM   #12
usa1camaro1969
Back on the dino-juice
 
usa1camaro1969's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 LS + a few more
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by chozn4service View Post
NOT AIRAID!!!!!!! I was one of the first ones to have the Airaid CAI and I've had no issue with it throwing a code. Must be the other guys and I'm calling names.
You really want to go there? Almost all issues are install/operator issues on any intake system(he's got 15k miles on the intake).

Stand by your airaid and go back a year on the site. There's a reason they're on the version 2. People were actually losing power using their system(for those out there not wanting to look back).
And I'm calling names right back.....
__________________
I wake up in the morning and I piss excellence.
-Ricky Bobby
America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed. -Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936
usa1camaro1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:24 AM   #13
chozn4service
Five-O
 
chozn4service's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 SS w/2SS A8 Blue Velvet
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: +34° 55' 19.15", -117° 53' 22.43"
Posts: 2,970
Airaid didn't throw codes. I thought that's what the topic was, his issue with codes. Yes, there were some claiming to loose power. No one was using the same Dyno, different climates, bottom line, no consistancy with the runs from all over the board. I'm not going there with power loss or gains. Airaid was called out on issue of power gain when some said they experienced power loss. They went back to the drawing board and got it where it should be but NO ONE EVER SAID THEIR PRODUCT CAUSED CODES.
__________________
Never grow up, it's a trap!
chozn4service is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 10:41 AM   #14
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,152
im going to email K&N
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablosport Predator Tune + JBA 2.5" high flow cats = CEL P0430 The Stig Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 17 11-12-2011 08:44 AM
Cure for the CEL ?! 5thGENv6 Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 27 02-12-2011 08:13 AM
One possible solution to CEL P0430 w/ JBA midpipes Goliath Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 0 01-10-2011 08:55 PM
Another LT Headers and CEL for Emissions kauffjd3 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 7 10-29-2010 03:54 PM
Clearing a CEL jtzako 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 8 07-09-2010 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.