Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
River City Camaro Customs
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2011, 10:42 PM   #1
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
DRL and halos on all the time for only $2.99!

This has been my easiest and most favorite mod so far!

I searched and searched to try to find if anyone had done this before but couldn't find a good thread showing what wires to use. So i grabbed my trusty test light and did it myself.

I installed some LED DRL today and also wired them with my halos. So now my halos are always on with my DRL and when it gets dark and my headlights come on automatically the DRL stay on! It was super easy and the parts only cost me $2.99.

All you need is about 2 feet of wire and 4 quick splices, I bought a 10 pack for $2.99.

Unplug the harness going to each headlight and DRL. splice the power wires together on the left halo/DRL and the right halo/DRL. Plug the harnesses back in. DONE!!!!!

Not sure if the wire colors and position are the same for the 2010 but on my car i tapped the brown with white stripe wire on my passenger halo to the blue wire on my passenger DRL. On the driver side i connected the purple wire from the halo to the light blue wire on the DRL.
Attached Images
        

Last edited by SUX2BU; 03-25-2011 at 10:58 PM.
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:20 PM   #2
RedJewel2011
 
Drives: RS Rims, Spoiler & Retrofitted HIDs
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 12
Great Info! But mine isn't RS.

Good to know, Thanks and looking good.
RedJewel2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 06:08 AM   #3
JohnForeman
 
Drives: 2010 2SSRS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 121
Can you give us the info on the LED DRL's that you used?
Thanks
__________________
2010 2SSRSA6 - GFX
35% Window Tint
93 Octane Diablo Predator Tune
JohnForeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 10:25 AM   #4
hvychvy970
 
hvychvy970's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2011 2SSRS owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 246
Is it possible to unplug those DRL's at the bulb and the Halos still come on like that? That is what I really want to do. Is it too much of a pain for you to test that?
__________________
Colossians 3:17
RK Sport Rear Spoiler/Black Chrome Powder Coated SS Wheels/Air Lift Suspension/MagnaFlow Competition Axleback 5" Tips/Hurst Short Throw Shifter/Trinity 1000 Programmer/Black GM Heritage Grille/Street Scene Lower Grille w/Ducts/20% Tint/Smoked Exterior Lens Kit/Driver's Side Grand Sport Hash Marks Flat Black


hvychvy970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 11:50 AM   #5
overhaulengines

 
overhaulengines's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 3,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvychvy970 View Post
Is it possible to unplug those DRL's at the bulb and the Halos still come on like that? That is what I really want to do. Is it too much of a pain for you to test that?
hello, if i understand correctly, you are talking about removing the power wire from the drl's and leaving the jumper wire from the drl (power wire) to the halo's? if this is what you are asking, the halo's would be on all the time and the drl's would never come on. is this what you are asking?

the next problem is that you when you connect the 2 power wires together and there are no diodes added, you will get back feed up the wire back to the source. this is not good. someone might correct me if they know more. this has been discussed with many of the harnesses that have been made here on the forum.

lupe
__________________
Custom painted Bowties, Tail light bezels, engine covers, strut braces, emblems and custom painted interior parts.
Installation of vertical doors, lighting, reverse hood kits, hex vents, ACS product etc.

Visit www.camarocustoms.com for all our products and services...like us on Facebook.....check out photo albums here for lots of pics and ideas
overhaulengines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 01:00 PM   #6
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3
NorCal Camaro➎ Member
 
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3's Avatar
 
Drives: Bowties ONLY!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nor☆Cal
Posts: 1,772
Hope you used a diode in there.
__________________
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 09:18 PM   #7
Ph4r
Top Down Fun
 
Ph4r's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 2SS/RS IOM Vert
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington Twp, MI
Posts: 453
If I am following the way he did the mod right, the right thing would have been to add two diodes per side, but that would be a bit more complicated install. You would then need to cut the power wire in each harness just before the jumper and splice in the diode, that way neither power source can short out the output, and everything works the way he wants.

That being said, are both of them coming straight from a BCM Module Output, or do they go through a relay? If either goes through a relay, there will be no harm in leaving out the diode on that leg.

I am also wondering what LED DRL's he installed, and where they came from. We seem to have very similar tastes.
__________________
2011 Chevrolet Camaro Convertible 2SS RS M6 IOM Vert! IO Interior, Factory Hurst, Painted GFX, Black Rally Stripes, Front/Rear/Bowtie Blackouts, QTP Cutouts, Extra Cupholders!
LED Tails, LED DRL's (always on!), Ghosted "Concept" LED Side Markers, LED Tag Lights, Tinted LED Reverse Lights, Chrome Front Turn Signal Bulbs!
My Build Thread

Daily Driver: 2012 Chevrolet Cruze 1LT/RS - SIM, Manual 6Speed also! Thanks to BeckyD!
Ph4r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 09:23 AM   #8
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/2SS/RS/LS3 View Post
Hope you used a diode in there.
No need, like Ph4r said the power comes from a relay so the computer is not affected by this mod. A diode would only be needed if you wired this BEFORE the relay. I know a thing our two about wiring, I basically rewired my entire 98 SS daily driven race car.

I checked again and this does indeed per the parking lights.

Last edited by SUX2BU; 03-27-2011 at 09:34 AM.
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 09:32 AM   #9
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4r View Post
I am also wondering what LED DRL's he installed, and where they came from. We seem to have very similar tastes.
I got the same P13W DRL Bulbs that AAC sells they were $50 for the set. I don't think the place I got them from is a sponsor so PM me to find out the website.
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:14 AM   #10
ToddB

 
Drives: 2011 2SS Convertible Supercharged
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WI Cert Welder Navy NSSN
Posts: 859
Nice job.
ToddB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:59 PM   #11
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3
NorCal Camaro➎ Member
 
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3's Avatar
 
Drives: Bowties ONLY!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nor☆Cal
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUX2BU View Post
No need, like Ph4r said the power comes from a relay so the computer is not affected by this mod. A diode would only be needed if you wired this BEFORE the relay. I know a thing our two about wiring, I basically rewired my entire 98 SS daily driven race car.

I checked again and this does indeed per the parking lights.
With 15+ years of 12 volt in my background, I too know just a little about wiring.

So the halos are powered by a relay??? I doubt it. I'm just asking since a LED doesn't need a relay and you're allowing 12+ to possibly flow back into the BCM.

And are you also aware of PWM (the output of the DRL's)?

And please don't use a test light and Scotch Locks on a 40k+ car..
__________________

Last edited by IBM/2SS/RS/LS3; 03-27-2011 at 11:25 PM.
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 12:50 AM   #12
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/2SS/RS/LS3 View Post
With 15+ years of 12 volt in my background, I too know just a little about wiring.

So the halos are powered by a relay??? I doubt it. I'm just asking since a LED doesn't need a relay and you're allowing 12+ to possibly flow back into the BCM.

And are you also aware of PWM (the output of the DRL's)?

And please don't use a test light and Scotch Locks on a 40k+ car..
I searched for a while and I think you might be right about no parking light relay. Might throw 4 diodes on there just to be safe, and keep the exact same function I have now. But so far it has been working great.
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 01:01 AM   #13
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3
NorCal Camaro➎ Member
 
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3's Avatar
 
Drives: Bowties ONLY!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nor☆Cal
Posts: 1,772
Just trying to help ya


FYI: The DRL uses a pulse width modulation circuit and I bet your halos pulse a little huh? And the way you've wired it you'll be sending the PWM "pulse" back into the BCM; NO BUENO. A simple 50v 5A diode will work for ya' ($2.50 or so at Radio Shack)

Another thing you could do is add a relay. DRL+ to 85, ground 86, 12+ to 30 and 87 to the halo.

__________________
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 01:10 AM   #14
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/2SS/RS/LS3 View Post
Just trying to help ya


FYI: The DRL uses a pulse width modulation circuit and I bet your halos pulse a little huh? And the way you've wired it you'll be sending the PWM "pulse" back into the BCM; NO BUENO. A simple 50v 5A diode will work for ya' ($2.50 or so at Radio Shack)

Another thing you could do is add a relay. DRL+ to 85, ground 86, 12+ to 30 and 87 to the halo.

Haven't noticed any pulsing. Does it do it the whole time?
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 01:19 AM   #15
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3
NorCal Camaro➎ Member
 
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3's Avatar
 
Drives: Bowties ONLY!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nor☆Cal
Posts: 1,772
it should. You may not even notice unless you really pay attention.
__________________
IBM/2SS/RS/LS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 02:25 PM   #16
MudderFinger
 
MudderFinger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 605
I beleave AAC has a plug and play harness for this for only $7
MudderFinger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:16 PM   #17
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by MudderFinger View Post
I beleave AAC has a plug and play harness for this for only $7
Link? I couldn't find it.
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:25 PM   #18
overhaulengines

 
overhaulengines's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 3,635
when i purchase it a while back, it was not a harness, a couple of wires and taps. it was just a jumper wire from the parking lights to the drl power wire. but you would still need a diode i believe and thats not in the kit. i ditched that idea after a few burn up DRL's, as result of the pulse. my halo's and DRL( now led strips in my T3 ports) are running through a wireless remote (AAC) and are run from a direct power source (side post on fuse box)

lupe
__________________
Custom painted Bowties, Tail light bezels, engine covers, strut braces, emblems and custom painted interior parts.
Installation of vertical doors, lighting, reverse hood kits, hex vents, ACS product etc.

Visit www.camarocustoms.com for all our products and services...like us on Facebook.....check out photo albums here for lots of pics and ideas
overhaulengines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:44 PM   #19
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
I'll have to see if my lights pulse when I go pick it up from the tint shop.
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 01:17 PM   #20
AV2Jeter1
 
AV2Jeter1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro / 2000 Silverado
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: El Monte, CA.
Posts: 30
so were they pulsing and did you add the diodes ?
AV2Jeter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 01:27 PM   #21
SUX2BU
Quit being a pu$$y
 
SUX2BU's Avatar
 
Drives: FAST
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sachse TX (DFW)
Posts: 5,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV2Jeter1 View Post
so were they pulsing and did you add the diodes ?
Haven't checked and it will probably be dark when I finish tonight. So I won't be able to check until tomorrow.
SUX2BU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 06:21 PM   #22
AV2Jeter1
 
AV2Jeter1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro / 2000 Silverado
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: El Monte, CA.
Posts: 30
very exciting, thanks for the prompt response.
AV2Jeter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:40 PM   #23
moonshine
 
moonshine's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 camaro rs
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Baton rouge, la
Posts: 72
yeah, this mod needs the diodes. you never want to backfeed any electrical voltage. I can't believe AAC sells their wiring harness without diodes.

And scotch locks??? Thats asking for trouble.
__________________

2011 camaro RS V6 A6 | Summit White | More mods to come....
moonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:11 PM   #24
mouse
 
mouse's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2ss/rs conv, L99/Automatic
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Georgetown, Kentucky
Posts: 124
just installed 18smd /p13w LED lamps in my DRL's. I always turn off the DRL's during the daytime, so I cut the pwr wire to DRL's, and spliced in a jumper wire from SideMarker lamp pwr wire to the socket pwr wire on DRL's, I no longer have DRL's by themselves, but they come on with Halo's and or HID's. being powered by the sidemarker lamps I should not have to worry about the pulsing circuit of the halos. also no diodes needed and no voltage feedback to control module. I found the LEDs for $39.99 pair at S--rs Automotive website!
mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 11:21 AM   #25
goval
Anderson B.
 
goval's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Chevy Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 583
This thread is confusing. I wish there was a SAFE and EASY step by step thread on how to make the factory fogs come on with the Halos.
__________________
2011 IOM SS/RS
goval is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halo's as DRL on NON-RS (working prototype) MagnumForceGB Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 7 10-14-2010 02:52 PM
How do I get my Halo's to turn on all the time like DRL? Topdown Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 23 07-29-2010 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.