Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2011, 11:17 PM   #15
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,208
thanks Stings.
__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:01 PM   #16
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,208
Ok, a HUGE step that was overlooked in every one of the HUD install threads I've read was the removal of the PASSENGER airbag bolts.

My father and I spent 1.5 hours tugging on the dash... removing little screws that we didn't have to... then a phone call to Ofer and he put us straight in 5 minutes.



Taking the rest of the night off.. spending it with friends and family.. Will start back up on Monday.
__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:07 PM   #17
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,208
Anyone have pointers for cutting out the dash for the HUD switch?
__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:16 PM   #18
hawkfe
 
hawkfe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Stingray 3LT
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 740
I just cut the hole small and keep trimming till it fit. You can also pop out your headlamp switch, the hole is pretty much the same. Check some of the other threads, I know there was a pic of the hole cut out.
hawkfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:52 PM   #19
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by franknbeans View Post
Anyone have pointers for cutting out the dash for the HUD switch?
Had to get some sleep so did not reply fast to your PM but if you need to call me do so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkfe View Post
I just cut the hole small and keep trimming till it fit. You can also pop out your headlamp switch, the hole is pretty much the same. Check some of the other threads, I know there was a pic of the hole cut out.
+100
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 10:12 PM   #20
The Beard
 
The Beard's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS HWSE M6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by hot ss View Post
one side at a time works.
heres a pic i placed things pretty much as i took them off one at a time, from left to right.
this is a 4x8' sheet its all on.

when it was install time, i started from the right.
and soon it will look like this.
A+ !
__________________
The Beard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 09:55 PM   #21
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,208
Need help... HUD is installed all is working well...but i have two issues.

1. The Onstar Light is on and RED. I hit the button and nothing happens.

2. When I use the dimmer for the lights in the car. . all it does is dim the Ambient light on the doors and the blue circle around the gauges. . NOT the gauges itself. I did this with out the 4 pack gauge cluster in. . But couldn't image that would make a difference at all.
__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:49 PM   #22
calbert1999
Camaro SS Lover
 
calbert1999's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Black IOM
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario (Canada)
Posts: 2,863
Dude. You rock. I'd never do this.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS, P1SC SuperCharged Livernois LSX429ci., 1 7/8" LT Headers, full 3" MBRP exhaust, SPI built/tuned, a total
calbert1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:44 PM   #23
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,208
Don't be to impressed.... something F-ed along the way and my dimmer switch doesn't work and my Onstar doesn't work.
__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 05:51 PM   #24
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,208
update:

Onstar is working properly now. I had put the box in with the connections facing the passenger seat and the coax cables got bend thus making no connection to the box.

I swapped it around and all is well now.

Need to figure out the issue with the light dimmer now.
__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:53 PM   #25
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,980
Good work, lets think of what can make the light dimmer now.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 07:57 PM   #26
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,208
Don't mind the check engine light... It was for a LOW battery. I charged up the system and rest the codes and all is good now. .. at least with the check engine light that is.


__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 02:17 PM   #27
mxfan127
 
mxfan127's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 S/C CAMARO
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burlington Wi
Posts: 243
CAN THIS BE DONE WITHOUT TAKING OUT THE DASH? WHAT IF YOU TOOK OUT THE WINDSHIED TO CUT THE HOLE CAN YOU STILL GET TO THE PLUG I REALLY WANT TO DO THIS BUT IT LOOKS LIKE HELL ANY THOUGHTS? ALSO DO THE 2011 LS STILL HAVE THE PLUG UNDER THE DASH IF NOT WHAT WOULD I NEED TO DO TO MAKE THIS WORK?
mxfan127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:26 PM   #28
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,980
Hi no this can not be done without removing the dash, on the 2011 i do not know but more then likely it will not be there or it want work without the HUD harness, that is from all the things on the 2010, GM does not make it ease.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add HUD to your 2010 2SSRS@Gen5diy Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 1960 04-06-2015 10:22 AM
HUD>>>First 2010 HUD install in the country completed, 2010 Camaro, Steve Doten; SteveDoten Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 16 05-10-2011 10:19 PM
Install pics or step by step. DIY on T3 ports? ROBBDOGG1986 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 11 09-21-2010 11:43 PM
Who wants the HUD system available ASAP? linkwpc Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 72 04-27-2010 01:14 AM
M45 Blinder X-treme laser jammer install klove Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 7 12-10-2009 04:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.