Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 04-12-2011, 02:02 PM   #1
gmussio

Drives: 10' Camaro LT VRed/Bl Stripes 6M
Bolt-On Recommendations Please!!!

I am saving enough money to purchase and install a couple bolt ons that I really want. I want the BBK LT headers with high-flow cats and an AEM CAI. I should be able to purchase them in May. I am new to the tuning world (but not new to fixing up cars, I have a 1964 Ford Falcon Convertible with a 260 small block v8). My question is, are there any other mods I will have to do to my Camaro? Do I really have to replace the exhaust pipe or mufflers? The exhaust pipe is already at 2.25". Would upsizing the pipe and/or changing the mufflers do anything other then make noise (e.g. does it increase HP, Torque, mileage)? Do I have to program the ECU to get the most from my mods? Are there other CAI or Headers w/ HF Cats that I should consider? Do you recommend I install any of this myself? My dad has a garage with every tool I could possibly ask for to fix up my car and his mechanical skills are greater then mine. We both maintain our own vehicles and have messed with every component of an engine short of cracking open the engine block, tranny, or drive drive train. Thanks for any and all the advice that you can give, it will be greatly appreciated!!!
gmussio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 02:29 PM   #2
jagan323
I have no life

Drives: 06' Subaru STI, ex-Camaro V6 LLT
Cool, congrats and good luck on the savings. AEM CAI isn't too well known, but I've seen it, it looks like the Injen CAI (The most popular CAI for the V6).